Need help with a shed for a water well

Old 10-20-11, 11:15 PM
Need help with a shed for a water well

I am trying to get information to build a simple shed to provide some protection from cold for my water well. I have been thinking about building a simple
8 x 8 shed with a slanted roof. I am not looking to build the Taj Mahal just something that will hopefully keep the well from freezing in the winter. I live in Cleveland, Texas so our winters are not particularly brutal but my neighbor told me that their well froze last winter and we should build some type of protection. I just moved to the property this August. I have no building experience so I am hoping to build as simple a design as I can. I figure a slant roof was the best way to go but I have no idea how to get started. A friend will be helping and has built decks and shed kits but not a shed from scratch and does not have roofing experience.

I am thinking about building the walls with 10' posts on the two corner and 12' post on the other two, sinking the posts two feet into the ground. The heights would then be 8' and 10' respectively. I originally thought about building (3) 8 x 8 walls and (1) 10 x 10 wall but I am not really sure how to handle that angle between the walls. I am not concerned with making it water tight as it is just to basically provide some insulation from the wind and cold. I would be using either metal sheeting or Ondura type of roofing material to cover. The building would not be used to store anything but simply to provide a buffer from the cold for the water well. I will also not be installing a floor and may need to disassemble if repairs are needed for the well. My neighbor installed a kit over his, but I am trying to save some of the costs by building it myself.