8 x 20 shed with 10 x 20 lean to overhang

Old 09-10-13, 08:43 AM
8 x 20 shed with 10 x 20 lean to overhang

So I'm trying to build a shed where half of it is a storage shed and the other half is a lean to type overhang to park my truck. I want it to be a single gable type roof with the ridge over the shed wall. I'm having a hard time figuring out how to make the center shed wall with the ridge beam over it.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-10-13, 09:09 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

The wall that divides the shed and the carport would be 2'-3' taller than the exterior walls. I'm a painter, not a carpenter but it should be as easy as fastening a ridge board over the top plate and the installing your rafters to set on the other shed wall and the header that runs along the outside 'wall' of the carport.

Old 09-10-13, 04:42 PM
If I do that I'd have to have a 1 on 12 pitch in order for the bottom of the rafter not to hit the edge of the top plate.

Old 09-10-13, 05:28 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Old 09-11-13, 03:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
If I do that I'd have to have a 1 on 12 pitch in order for the bottom of the rafter not to hit the edge of the top plate
How do you figure that A 1/12 pitch would have the center wall less than 1' higher than the side walls. The carport is only 10' wide, right? will the shed floor be wood or concrete? the shed floor also raises the head room in the carport.

Old 09-11-13, 05:32 AM
Ridge Beam

Why would you need a ridge beam? Support the upper ends of the rafters with the inner wall.(Make the inner wall high enough to get the correct roof pitch.) You did not say what the roof pitch will be. As mentioned, use the shed floor as the reference point to level the outside lean-to posts.

Old 09-11-13, 02:30 PM