Total noob questions-first time build

Old 05-08-14, 09:04 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Total noob questions-first time build

ok so I have done hours of research to minimize mistakes while building my 12X16 shed. I have a couple questions as I put together my material list.

1. When you frame a wall with 8' studs, the actual wall height is 8'3". Doesnt this reek havoc with the sheathing? Do i really have to buy an extra piece of sheathing to cover the last 3"? Is there something in the actual length of the material I am missing or is it common to cut 3" off each stud so the wall is exactly 8'? Should I not be sheathing over the top/sole plates?

2. I am building the floor from 2x6 with joist hangers. I will also buy the AdvanTech 23/32 tongue and groove osb floor panels for maximum strength. Will this be sufficient to store a muscle car over the winter?

thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-14, 09:15 AM
R
Received 29 Votes on 25 Posts
Wall studs are not 8' they are 92 1/4", they are purchased at that length, no need to cut them. As far as the flooring, it depends on how far you space the joists.

Old 05-08-14, 09:21 AM
S
Dang man, that was fast. Thank you sooooo much. Ok, very cool. I do see now where you can get 96" and 92 5/8. that answers that question.

I was gonna space 12"OC for the floor. Are the joist hangers a waste of money? Also, it would seem that some additional bracing would be a waste of time as well since all the stress would ultimately end up where the joist meet the outside, no?

thanks again!

Old 05-08-14, 10:11 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 681 Votes on 628 Posts
2x4" are commonly available in two lengths. 8' and stud length. Oddly sometimes the longer 8' ones are less expensive.

Joist hangers are a good idea. You mention "additional bracking" but do not say what you are considering. But if using 2x6" floor joists I'd say you'll need additional support.