Solar power for heating a room/part of the house

Old 01-03-08, 11:46 AM
Solar power for heating a room/part of the house

Hi, I'm a newbie here and curious to know if there are any simple, do-it-yourself systems available to heat up just one room of the house? If there is something like that, how expensive and efficient it would be? On sunny days, the front of my house gets sunlight almost all day.

I'm assuming there has to be a power storage system for the non-sunny days?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-06-08, 12:57 AM
You might want to do some research on passive solar energy. http://www.newenergy.org/sesci/publi...s/passive.html

And, on solar energy and how to collect it.
http://www.jc-solarhomes.com/

Old 01-16-08, 07:34 PM
Ceramic tile with radiant heat is a great conductor of heat. Ceramic tile has a great cooling effect during summer months. Keeping curtains and blinds closed during hot months, keeps heat out. Keeping curtains and draperies closed on sunny, hot days will keep out heat.

Old 02-08-08, 07:36 AM
solar siphon-chimney

Vague description. One of the cheapest, efficient retrofit solar air heaters is a solar siphon-chimney. Works great but no storage. Framed double walled transparent polycabonate glazing with floating black sheet metal behind. Large ducts are placed at the top and bottom going through your house wall. The ducts have light plastic (garbage bag) check valves to prevent reverse convection at night. Check out green house suppliers for 4 by 24 ft. sheet of polycabonate ($160). Problem is no sun no heat. It's as heat cost saver not replacer. Sloppy drafty construction will increase heating costs.

Old 02-10-08, 11:19 AM
Solar heating one room

Originally Posted by stuck_old_house View Post