Best hardware to mount heavy stuff on steel studs??

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-14-09, 09:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 129
Best hardware to mount heavy stuff on steel studs??

I am planning to mount plasma TV on a wall built with steel studs. What is the best hardware to use to mount the bracket?

Thanks
Jan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-14-09, 06:56 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
It's not the hardware, but the weakness of the face of the studs that will be the problem. Is there anyway to get behind the wall surface, say from another room, and fortify the studs with spanner lumber?
 
  #3  
Old 03-14-09, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 129
Unfortunately there is a bedroom behind it.

Will 4 toggle bolts in adjoining studs, plus some more in the drywall be enough?

The LCD weighs about 60LB

Thanks for the advice
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-09, 09:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,959
Originally Posted by boonjh View Post
Unfortunately there is a bedroom behind it.

Will 4 toggle bolts in adjoining studs, plus some more in the drywall be enough?

The LCD weighs about 60LB

Thanks for the advice
You won't be able to make a toggle bolt work like that.Toggle bolts would be appropriate for the drywall.

I do agree with a mixture of fasteners and that the metal of the studs is not heavy enough to hold the load well.

You might be able to use self drilling sheet metal screws in the studs and toggle bolts elsewhere.I'd use as many of both as you can and consider a support under the base of the TV of some kind also mounted with toggles and/or screws (not just screws).
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-09, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 129
Just curious as to why one can't use toggle bolt "inside" metal studs? (Assuming the "wings" open vertically inside the stud)
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-09, 11:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,959
You would need to make a large hole in the metal,at least 1/2 in for a toggle bolt that would work for your job and that would seriously impact the metal around it.

It would also require a high speed bit that size that would reach that far which would be moderately expensive.You'd have to first drill with a masonry bit through the drywall or the drywall would ruin the hs bit.

The metal would flex a lot making it unstable.
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-09, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 129
Thank you very much! It makes sense!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'