Help! Cant screw those anchor bolts into my hollow ceiling! :(

Old 03-23-14, 02:03 PM
Help! Cant screw those anchor bolts into my hollow ceiling! :(

Hello everybody,

This is my first time experimenting with DIY. I've been trying to mount my projector onto the ceiling. I got those hollow wall anchor bolts (10mm diameter) and just can't get them to work. The first one wouldn't secure and the second one just made a huge hole and fell above the ceiling. I've followed the exact instructions and made sure the little teeth on the anchor bolts were secured in the plasterboard. What am I doing wrong here? I've attached pictures just in case.

Many thanks!!! Appreciate your help!

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 03-23-14, 02:08 PM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

As an alarm installer I use those by the boxes. To install them I use a #2 phillips screwdriver as my drill. Then I just tap them in. You can drill a hole with a drill but the hole must be small enough that the anchor needs to be tapped in.

I think one size under 1/4" would work.

Old 03-23-14, 02:21 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
To salvage what you have there with the holes already in place, switch to toggle bolts. Make sure you get ones that are long enough to go completely through the wall and get a good grab on the back side.

Old 03-23-14, 02:23 PM
Thanks for the reply. I didn't actually drill the hole you see in the picture. That happened when I tried screwing in that anchor bolt with a philips screwdrive - instead of locking in it would just keep spinning and drilling further deeper until it fell above the ceiling :/

Old 03-23-14, 02:30 PM
Do I actually need an anchor setting tool? I had absolutely no idea that'd be necessary, and I don't understand why that wasn't mentioned in the instructions on the box :/

Old 03-23-14, 02:49 PM
Forum Topic Moderator