Tension weight of Tapcons

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-14, 02:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Tension weight of Tapcons

Hello all,

I need to hang a d-ring from a cement overhead. I don't need to hold much weight 250-300 pounds at the absolute highest. I was just going to use some Tapcon screws but I can't find a clear chart about load bearing limits. Any one know them?

Halomon
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-26-14, 03:20 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Here it is, google is your friend. Concrete Screws ~ TapconŽ Technical Information ~ Concrete Fastening Systems
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-14, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
You're a genius!

I looked all over for that dam thing. So 4 1/4" screws 1" deep gives me 3000 Pounds at the weakest concrete? That's loads then.

Thanks for the help.

Halo
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-14, 05:40 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,957
That's if they are installed perfectly...that can be problematic at times.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-14, 12:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,426
I need to hang a d-ring from a cement overhead.
Don't use Tapcons to hold that up if the load is pulling agains the screws. When suspending a load you need a fastener that tightens with weight. The top one is my personal choice. Comes in many lenghts and diameters.

Name:  expa.jpg
Views: 1501
Size:  4.0 KBName:  exp.jpg
Views: 1534
Size:  22.5 KB
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-14, 12:14 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,957
I agree with PJ...and I should have said that before. I would never use Tapcons in a pull out situation like that except for the very lightest static loads like a light fixture.
 
  #7  
Old 03-28-14, 03:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Ok then wedge anchor it is. Looks like I'll only need a small one too.

Thanks guys

Halo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'