Need Help Finding Type of Bolt/Screw

Old 08-25-14, 01:16 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need Help Finding Type of Bolt/Screw

Hi all,

I'm going to be putting a new door-handle on my backyard storage shed, and I wondered if anyone could help me with my problem.

I'm trying to find out if there exists a threaded bolt or screw with a head that is neither hexed/square that a wrench could grip, nor has a socket for a screwdriver.

In other words, I want the only way to detach the handles to be by unscrewing the nut on the inside.

I've tried googling this and apparently I'm not asking the right question. I'm a DIY novice, so I may just not know the correct terminology. I haven't been able to find out if these exist, what they're called, or if they are available at anyplace like major hardware chains or big-box stores.

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 08-25-14, 01:21 PM
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
They are called security screws.

Pick and choose here;

SECURITY SCREW Fasteners - Grainger Industrial Supply

RR

Old 08-25-14, 01:46 PM
Super Moderator
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
What kind of handle? Just a regular pull handle of some sort, not a door knob? I'd say a carriage bolt, but that would probably be too big.

They make one way security hardware, which CAN be removed, but would be much harder w/o special tools. You could probably just use a regular screw and put 2 nuts on the inside. Tightened down good, they would probably just spin if someone only had access to the outside.

Last edited by Gunguy45; 08-25-14 at 04:55 PM.
Old 08-25-14, 03:07 PM
W
Received 27 Votes on 25 Posts
Bolt

Use any kind of bolt. Use a washer under the nut on the inside and disfigure the threads with a hammer and screw driver so that the nut will spin when the bolt is turned from the outside.

Old 08-25-14, 03:39 PM
Group Moderator
Received 847 Votes on 776 Posts
Or use some type of sex bolt.

Old 08-25-14, 04:39 PM
Group Moderator
Received 283 Votes on 247 Posts