Restoring wooden drawer tracks?

Old 11-18-15, 10:56 PM
Restoring wooden drawer tracks?

Hello there!

I'll have to admit I'm a novice, so I apologize if this is confusing. I have been very slowly restoring a dresser that I found several years ago. It does have problems, including some broken veneer on the face of the drawers, that I plan on replacing. It has one problem that I have no idea what to do with, though- the wooden drawer tracks.

The tracks on both of the bottom drawers are splintered and worn, both on the drawer and the inside of the dresser. Unfortunately, the "track" on the drawer is just the bottom of the side. It's not removable.

I initially thought I could attach some side mounted drawer slides, but there's no space between the frame and the drawer side. There's a gap between the bottom of the drawer and the frame, so I guess a center slide could work- except the drawer bottoms are extremely thin and there's very little inside the dresser to attach it to. Also the measurements on the whole piece aren't very precise, so I'm not sure if a traditional slide would even fit.

Picture of the whole dresser:
http://s27.postimg.org/e7chpw0mb/122...35708726_n.jpg

Picture of the drawer (part closest to camera is the bottom/track):
http://s1.postimg.org/rscn2ptjz/1228...68586144_o.jpg

Picture of the inner track:
http://s11.postimg.org/yycdqcmhf/122..._3882753_o.jpg

I know it will be a lot of work, and I may end up spending more time/money than it's worth- but I've gotten pretty attached to it and I'm willing to put in the work. I just have no idea what to do! Any advice is appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-19-15, 05:28 AM