Craftmans warranty

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-20, 09:31 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Craftmans warranty

Chipped a blade on Craftsmen screwdriver, took to Lowes and they said had to call a 888 @ on back of tool box. On hold for 5 to 10 minutes, finally got somebody and they asked for name then hung up. Is this the crap I will have to go through each time something happens? If so never will buy another Craftsman tool. 45 years at Sears and never had problem. Sorry about rant just pissed me off.
 
  #2  
Old 08-10-20, 10:13 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,147
Received 463 Votes on 431 Posts
As you know, Sears doesn't own Craftsman any more, they sold to Black and Decker (if I recall correctly) so it's now nothing more than any other low/mid grade tool line, probably all made in the same factory.

I have huge collection of Craftsman tools so not much need for anything else, probably will be looking for new brand if anything is needed!
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-20, 11:05 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,951
Received 384 Votes on 340 Posts
Before our last local Sears shut their doors they were difficult to get to replace tools under warranty. I've heard some say Lowes has no problem replacing them while others say they don't or at least not willingly. Maybe it depends on the individual store ??
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-20, 02:00 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
I didn't talk to front desk just the guy in tool dept. Will go to desk next.
 
  #5  
Old 08-10-20, 05:53 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,147
Received 463 Votes on 431 Posts
ACE and or ACO carry Crapsman, maybe they would be a better choice!
 
  #6  
Old 08-11-20, 01:38 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Unfortunately closest Ace 20+ miles away. Would try them if I had a reason to go there. Hope I don't break many of the Crapsman tools I have. Most of 2 boxes are full of them.
 
  #7  
Old 08-11-20, 03:19 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,951
Received 384 Votes on 340 Posts
I know what you mean, most of my hand tools are Craftsman.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: