How to enlarge the hole in a metal ring

Old 10-14-20, 09:43 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to enlarge the hole in a metal ring

Hello everyone. I need some help with a bolt type door fastener. I am sorry i dont know the proper names for the things. I have several spring bolt type fasteners on my stable doors that slide into a flat L shaped piece of metal with a hole in it attached to the door frame. I need to enlarge the size of the hole the bolt fits into because the building shifts a bit in the winter causing the bolt to not line up properly. In the summer its fine. It was suggested i make the hole bigger but i dont know what kind of tool to use to do this. Someone mentioned a drill bit but i havent seen any of the size i would need. Is there some kind of an attachment i can put on a dremal that would work? Any other suggestions? I am a complete newbie to fixing things and appreciate all the help i can get. Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-14-20, 11:04 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Someone mentioned a drill bit
Yes..... a metal drill bit.

You could post a picture of what you have..... how-to-insert-pictures.

You left out two important things. How thick is the metal and what size hole do you need.
If the bolts are holding up large swinging doors.... I'd imagine they are pretty heavy.
I don't think a Dremel will handle this job. You're going to need an actual drill.

We use Unibits/Step drill bits to enlarge holes in metal. They are fairly robust and easy to use without yanking the drill out of your hands when the bit catches the metal. Link below.

It would probably be best to take your bolt to a home improvement center or a Canadian Tire and match that size to a proper drill bit.

Step drill bits

Drangd voted this post useful.
Old 10-15-20, 04:49 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts