Ducane HP10B18 wiring


  #1  
Old 10-06-04, 07:34 PM
Cubano
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ducane HP10B18 wiring

Hi... looking for some help that'll save me some time. I'm wondering if I've been correctly informed.

I have a 1.5 ton Ducane unit that I'm putting in as part of a rather large remodel project. I've been doing all my own wiring... so far so good. Now I need to run wire to the outside heat pump.

I have a disconnect switch, and I'm running 12/2 wire (in a weatherproof conduit) to the unit. I see what look to be the obvious connection points for the power supply, but they're labeled L1 and L2, with a nearby grounding screw. I don't see what I'm used to seeing (e.g. hot, neutral)... and the net is useless for Ducane wiring diagrams.

So: are L1 and L2 my hot & neutral connections (black & white, respectively)? Also, should I be using 12/3 wire? I was told 12/2, and I'm wondering if that's correct.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 10-07-04, 07:25 AM
Cubano
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm an idiot

Never mind... I got it figured out. I'm a moron.
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-04, 12:25 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,547
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think you need to check the wire size again 12 gauge is to small. Depending on the length of the run you're probably going to need 8-10 gauge wire.
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-04, 08:38 PM
Cubano
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the tip... I'll check it out. The unit is pretty small though (1.5 ton). Thankfully, the wire run is very close to my panel...
 
  #5  
Old 10-08-04, 04:38 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,547
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For a 30 amp breaker 10 is min. A 40 amp breaker 8 is min.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: