Is this a problem? New HP user

Old 11-06-04, 04:49 AM
NewVA
Visiting Guest
Red face Is this a problem? New HP user

I am new to the world of heat pumps so I don't know if this is normal or not. My Heatpump will come on and every once in a while I can hear it make a sound like it is releasing pressure sort of a higher pitched psshht sound and then it keeps going. This morning I got up and the pump was running and the EM heat green light was on and I could hear the compressor running outside. I turned down the thermostat and the fan did not stop running. I eventually turned the switch to off to get everything to turn off. When I turned it back on everything stayed off and when I turned the heat up the fan, compressor and the green EM heat light also came back on. I don't recall that the EM light has been on when it was running prior to this. I also went and looked at my compressor and there are two bands of frost/Ice One upper and one lower on the unit. I don't know if this is normal or not since I have never had a heat pump before after moving here from the land of natural gas.

Any help or advise would be appreciated.

Thanks

Old 11-06-04, 06:16 AM
heatpumpman
Visiting Guest
Sounds like everything is good to go.