heat-pump,oil back-up thermostat????

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-05, 09:52 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
heat-pump,oil back-up thermostat????

We have a York heat pump, oil fired boiler back-up that kicks in at 45F outside. We presently have the manual Honeywell heat pump thermostat.
Any suggestions for a good programmable thermostat? Honeywell T8011R?

Thanks

Mr Bill
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-05, 01:37 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

There are so many out there its hard to say. A lot is in the cost .Id for sure run that heatpump on down to 32o before I went over to the oil.


ED
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-05, 03:06 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
we tried running the heat pump to 35 and the "cold" heat was uncomfortable.
That is why we added the oil backup in the first place.
We asked our dealer what the other folks in the area do and he said 40-45F.

We go thru about 300 gallons of heating oil in a year so the extra comfort is minimal to our budget.
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-05, 03:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Forgot to mention that we live in SE Pennsylvania where it is right now 9F
and going down to 5F tonite. I don't miss the heat pump's crappy heat at all.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-05, 05:11 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Hey if the wife is happy with it go for it. You can put more strip heater in the unit to make it warm with elelctric heat if you want . The key here is fuel cost so go to
http://www.warmair.net and compare fuel cost where you are .

ED
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-05, 06:35 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I never reccomend a programmable t-stat. Unless you're away from the home for a day or more it's not going to save you anything.
 
  #7  
Old 01-22-05, 05:13 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The electric strips are still in the unit but unconnected.
They are there as a second emergency setup if the oil furnace ever went down.

It was 0F this morning , noreaster is accoming.

The set-back unit would be useful in that the wife sometimes forgets to turn back the thermostat during work hours.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: