is this normal?


  #1  
Old 02-27-05, 08:34 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,309
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
is this normal?

Had a new system installed just last year in the start of summer.A new Trane XL19i new everything from outside unit to ducts.
When I turn on heat I see Aux heat: outsde temp is 45 and my setting is 71.
I have one more free visit from the company that insalled unit is this something I should tell them about?Heat works good but is this normal?
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-05, 11:39 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

What is the temp in the home????? Its like say the tstat is set at 72o and the home drops to 71o the heat pump only should turn on. now if the pump cant keep up and the temp goes down to 70o then the electric strip heater or AUX should turn on to help out. Also the AUX will turn on if the unit goes into a defrost mode, So it dont blow cold air.

If you just let the tstat alone and at 45 o out side only the heat pump should come on. You could pull the cover off the tstat and see the two bulbs in there. when you first call for heat only one should like turn on.

Post back if not clear in same post.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-05, 06:25 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,034
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Red face

XL19i is a 2 stage heat pump(2 separate compressors-high and low) and I assume appropriate sized heat strips(for aux heat) in your var spd air handler. If your new heat pump was sized properly, conditions are as you describe, and thermostat setting remains constant(in other words, you have not bumped it by several degrees), it is not normal for aux heat to be on. Unit should attempt to maintain your thermostat setting on low stage first and then go to 2nd stage if setting can not be maintained. The idea that aux heat comes on with outside temp at 45 deg tells me something is not right. What kind of thermostat do you have-Trane 500xt?
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-05, 04:29 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,309
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thermostat

The thermostat is also new it is a Honeywell Chronotherm IV plus.I have not programed it and use it manual.
I have noticed that like you say I do not mess with it by bumping it up several degrees it is ok but lets say room temp drops to 68 with system off I turn system on to system heat and set temp to 72 the Aux heat goes on.
If system is on already set at 72 and it goes on by itself to maintain the 72 setting it shows heat with no AUX.
Here is what I just did system was off all day inside temp shows 70 on the honeywell outside temp is 50.Switched on system to heat and bumped to 72 Aux heat came on.
Bumped temp down to 71 and Aux went off and it showes just heat.
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-05, 06:54 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Nearly all heat pump thermostats will bring on the aux heat if the indoor temperature is 2 or more below the set point. At 1 below set point the aux heat should not come on unless there is some sort of timer involved which brings on the aux heat after ___ minutes. I've never seen one on a heat pump but have heard of them.
 
  #6  
Old 03-03-05, 03:39 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,034
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Your new Trane system is normal if you are cutting heat pump on/off and raising setpoint on your thermostat by 2 or more degrees above room temperature rather than running system continuously at a constant setpoint temp. You may be defeating the purpose if your intent is to save $$$ by making your system work harder,longer and engaging the expensive aux heat strips.
 
  #7  
Old 03-03-05, 04:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,309
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
that is good news

Thanks for putting my mind at ease. I guess I will have to learn how to program that fancy thermostat.
I have never had such a fancy system with dual compressor and fancy thermostats. I am from the old school were the thermostat was just an old round mercury switch. Yes, I do want to save money so I will pull out the book and program the thermostat.
Thanks for your expert advice all.
 
  #8  
Old 03-03-05, 04:54 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,315
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I wouldn't program it at all, just set it at a temp you feel comfy at and leave it. That way you are minumizing the times the aux will kick in.
 
  #9  
Old 03-03-05, 05:16 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,309
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
one more question

If I just set the temp and leave it alone what happens when it gets hot outside?Will I just have to switch system to cool from heat or will it go automatic?
 
  #10  
Old 03-03-05, 05:21 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,315
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You'll have to switch it to cool.
 
  #11  
Old 03-03-05, 05:36 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,309
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK then

Ok will do as per your suggestions and switch to cool in the summer and just leave at one setting year round.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: