changing thermostats

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-05, 03:39 PM
24fan1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
changing thermostats

I am replacing my old thermostat in my mobile home with a Honeywell T8411R
electronic thermostat.The old stat did not have a common wire going to it,but the Honeywell requires one.The Intertherm E2EB-015HA furnace has four wires coming from the transformer.They are grey,green,white and red.Which is my common wire?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-05, 03:49 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Check the wire schematic on the door of the unit there.look and see where Common is and what color it is.

R is power red W is white heat G green for fan

Y is for cool compressor

Sounds like you have to pull another wire to the tstat

ED
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-05, 06:10 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,028
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
24fan1

Far easier than pulling another wire in a moblie home, is to get a thermostat which does not need a common.
 
  #4  
Old 02-28-05, 04:15 PM
24fan1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thermostat wiring

I already have a couple of extra wires from transformer to tstat.The only wire
not going to tsat is the white one.Isn't the common wire for power to an
electronic tstat?I'm clueless.
 
  #5  
Old 02-28-05, 04:42 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,028
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Common

Originally Posted by 24fan1
I already have a couple of extra wires from transformer to tstat.The only wire
not going to tsat is the white one.Isn't the common wire for power to an
electronic tstat?I'm clueless.
Yes, the common would be used to power the thermostat. Connect the white wire to the common side of the transformer & C(?) on the thrermostat & you should be good to go. There also might be a C terminal on a terminal strip in the furnace. If so, you should be able to make the connection there instead of directly to the transformer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: