Ducane A/C good H/P no heat?

Old 11-04-06, 07:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Ducane A/C good H/P no heat?

We have a two year old Ducane combined unit (model number SH10B24P), cools great no problems there anymore. Temps have dropped, now time for heat (thermostat: White-Rogers digital installed by company that installed unit) there is little to no heat. Unit runs constantly, temp on 70 unit will not get above 64-65, emg heat will not blow warm air. I know little about H/P always had gas-pac, but I do know that something is not right. Unit alway running in Aux mode trying to bring indoor temp up. Service person called, pulling eye teeth to get them here. Unit not worth money paid, can you please direct me to what I should look for or watch for if and they show up. Or what I can check for myself, I have some electicial knowledge.
Home is 1100 sf and unit is 2 ton, had several problems, does ice up but did defrost last year (but not cold enough for icing yet), freon was charged beginning of summer, like stated unit cools great, but heating is not working properly. I will mention filters are changed regularly and air circulation around unit is not blocked.
Any help will be gladly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-04-06, 01:11 PM
Wink

Two year old and put freon in it . Sounds like leak and they should fix it. low charge can be low heat.You need a meter or amprobe to check if all the electric elements come on .
Is big copper line hot as it comes out of the out door unit?

ED

Old 11-04-06, 05:42 PM
Question

Originally Posted by Ed Imeduc
Two year old and put freon in it . Sounds like leak and they should fix it. low charge can be low heat.You need a meter or amprobe to check if all the electric elements come on .
Is big copper line hot as it comes out of the out door unit?

ED
In checking I did not locate a large copper line. Is it located