Replacing a 30 Yr Old Heat pump, etc

Old 10-15-06, 10:53 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing a 30 Yr Old Heat pump, etc

A newbie here.

I've inherited my "Mom's " house in Sun City AZ which was built in about 75. It's about time to replace the heat pump, (original) and I'm going to get some estimates in November, over Thanksgiving vacation. I'm currently looking at the Trane and American Standard 'dealers' for replacement units.

House is one story, about 2000 sq ft -on a slab. The Air handler is in the hall closet, with the return air coming through a lovered door, and overhead ducting basically a straight run the length of the house.

So -

Currently thinking I could use the XL15i - would this be sufficient for that area of the country?

Since heating isn't as much of a problem down there, but heat is required , would a 2 stage compressor be better for that area ( from what I've read here - it's less efficient in the heat generating department) ? Can I get the 2 stage compressor in this unit - versus the 16i "upgrade".

Since I "assume" that the air handler primarily is a blower, can they retro a new "blower unit" into the current 'box" without ripping that one out?

I am expecting to be able to use the current "plumbing" , that's probably buried in the slab, to handle the refrigerant back and forth. Am I in for a Shock with this expectation?

What would be a reasonable, ballpark, dollar amount I might be looking at - worst case scenario.

Thanks All for any input and recommendations.

( Edited for typo's - well after needed )

Last edited by MTTwister; 10-17-06 at 02:11 PM.
Old 10-16-06, 11:16 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink