My Heatpump Experience so far in N.E. Ohio cold temperatures

Old 12-16-06, 01:56 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile My Heatpump Experience so far in N.E. Ohio cold temperatures

This is my first year with a Heatpump in Northeast Ohio where Temperatures from December-February can sometimes get quite cold.
Average Temperatures in December here are in the 30's and January is 24 with records lows of -20.
So how am I doing so far?
I am EXCEPTIONALLY well pleased with the Heatpump. I have a 2600sq.ft. home with a 2.5 ton 13 seer Concord Unit, 5 KW heatstrip. The coldest so far was 17 degrees with close to 5 degree or lower chill factor. During these two days it was this cold the Heatpump held my home at 69 degrees and was doing ALL it COULD do. HOWEVER, it was a WARM 69 degrees.
I was pleased.
If I wanted to get a little better I suppose I could *up my heatstrip to 7.5 KW. HOWEVER my box is only a 100 amp service so I have to be careful and just might leave it.
Am I happy with it. YEP, even MORE than YEP.
My bill for October was $20.00
My bill for November was $55.00
I am anticipating perhaps a $100.00 bill for December ALTHOUGH this week has been in the 40's and MIGHT remain for the year.

ONE other note... I am NOT sure if a heatpump is a good idea for something like an OLD farmhouse with NO insulation in NE OHIO. Homes like THAT need ALOT of HOT heat coming into them from oil or wood. But a well insulated home in NE Ohio will do JUST fine with a Heatpump.

Old 12-16-06, 02:58 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

When you look at a heatpump its the HSPF of the unit to look at Not the SEER.
2600sq ft home and just a 5 kw. I dont see how it can hold the home when it goes into defrost. Also if the pump goes out the 5 Kw cant heat the home. All of the homes that we put heatpumps in have to have a 200 amp panel to carry it.