Leveling Programmable Thermostat?

Old 01-05-07, 08:50 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Leveling Programmable Thermostat?

I've been curious as to whether its more energy efficient to use a programmable thermostat to keep my house (heat pump) cool during day and evening but warm during morning and early evening. My concern is if I have a difference of say 8 degrees for these times, won't the heat pump kick in the electric heat portion? Is there such a thermostat that will gradually raise the temp as to not bring in auxiliary? If so, am I saving anything or will the wear&tear on my unit be more than the savings in electricity? Thanks folks!
-Mike

Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-07, 08:57 PM
I prefer the Honeywell thermostats. They make a Vision Pro (8000 series) model with a nice screen and setback capability. They also have adaptive intelligent recovery which does what you are looking for. On most models you can also set it to favor comfort or economy when the room temp falls below the setpoint. I think these stats are the best thing out there. You can probably save onsetback if the weather is mild but if it gets severe, you might consider setting back less or not at all.

Ken

Old 01-05-07, 09:20 PM
RTH8500D work also, or advantages w/ 8321?

I'm searching for the 8321, but having somewhat harder time finding it vs. the one listed in title. Is there a significant difference between the two - what should I be looking for? Thank you for your quick response!!
-Mike

Old 01-06-07, 06:11 AM
I agree with Ken.

What do you have for back up heat?

If you have electric back up heat, lot of us do not advise set back since heat pump takes a long time to recover, and will turn on the electric heat to heat up the home, so if you run this, will use much more power than the heat pump itself.

Now if you have gas, then it's ok in away.. depends on what your rate are.

The RTH8500D is pretty close to TH8320