Trane Heat Pump Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-07, 03:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane Heat Pump Question

I have a Trane Weathertron heat pump. and a 2 stage Trane propane furnace. The installer had never installed a heat pump before, and we have been getting the bugs out of the system for the last month. The problem I am having now is with an outside temp of 30' the temperature at the register does not get over 74'. The system will run for about 10 minutes then go to stage 1 propane heat, then stage 2 propane heat. In stage 2 heat the register temperature gets to 103'. The heat pump restricted mode outdoor temp is 26'. The heat pump operation outdoor temp is 28'. The aggressive recovery outdoor temp is 28'. The aux heat lockout outdoor temp is 45'. I just do not think the heat pump is running correctly. Thanks for any ideas. JT
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-07, 03:28 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If outside unit is running . Check the charge????
Is the big copper line hot to warm at the outside unit???? if so its working. Now the heat pump dont put out hot hot air. But it will heat the home. We tell people It will heat the home . But stay away from the registers
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-07, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Ed

The large copper line is warm to the touch at the heat pump. Not hot but warm. I just thought 74' at the register was kind of low.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-07, 03:56 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

At 30o outside and Id say check the charge. You might want to compare fuel cost there. All we use here is electric back up on a heat pump . Cost less than LP.

Go to http://warmair.net and compare fuel cost for where you are.
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-07, 04:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Ed

The heat pump is on an off peak switch. I buy the electricity at 1/2 price. The propane is my EM heat and should not kick in above 26'. Since I posted last the register heat came up to 76'. The Installer did not set up the system correctly and I am getting the bugs out. Thanks JT
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-07, 10:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
jt,

I agree with Ed. Charging a heat pump in the winter can be problematic and is definitely not for the inexperienced. I would ask your installing dealer to send another HP tech out with the charts to check the charge. And even when warmer weather arrives-maybe in May-you might even need further tweeking. Depending on outside temp, you should be getting supply temp in the low to mid 90s.

IMO
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-07, 02:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you TigerDunes

I have thought that the register temp was low. My installer has had me change the programing A few times now. And it is getting better.So my next question is, is there anything in the set up mode that could cause a low temperature at the register? Thanks For Any Help. JT
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-07, 07:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
JT

do you mind sharing the size and models of the Trane equipment you have plus the area of country you live?

I don't mean to sound negative but your HP problem is not going away with what you call "programming" changes. You need a HP expert with experience in dual fuel installations. Your heat pump should be the primary source of heating especially with the cost of propane. This is why you purchased a heat pump/furnace dual fuel system.

While not totally clear on your description of temp settings, I would lower the aux heat lockout temp (I assume this is for setback/recovery).

Let us know what the tech finds.

IMO
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-07, 04:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
System spec

Thank you for your reply Tiger Dunes. My system is 4 months old. We just built our house and moved in late fall.
I have a Trane XR402 thermostat
Weathertron 2TWB3 heat pump
XV90 UY100R9V4W furnace
I live 20 miles outside of St. Paul Minnesota.
The programing changes I have made have helped to get the heat pump to turn on, And work somewhat. Like I said before The installer had not ever installed a heat pump. (That is not what he told me when I took the bid)
I am just trying to figure out if it is a software issue or a low charge issue.
My installer is a small company 3 employees and it turns out none of them have ever installed a heat pump. Thanks for any help. JT
 
  #10  
Old 02-26-07, 05:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
jt

You have a top of line var spd gas furnace paired with a builder's grade heat pump- the XB13 model which in my opinion is a very poor choice (your mdl number does not give the size which I suspect is a 3 ton or above).

Having sais this, your problem will not go away without expert help from a knowlegeable HP TECH with experience in dual fuel setup. This is not a programming issue but rather an installation/HP charge issue.

Keep in mind that your HP in AC mode will not work correctly either. Get your installing dealer involved to sort this out and get this HP issue corrected.The techs need to have their charts to determine and verify the correct refrigerant charge at specific outdoor temps.

The XL802 would be a better thermostat choice.

Good Luck!
 
  #11  
Old 02-26-07, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
TigerDunes

It is funny you said I should have installed an XL802 thermostat. I requested one and my installer said it would not work well with my system. As for the heat pump I am stuck with it. And it is a 3 ton. I purchased what my installer recommended. As of tonight, I have restricted the heat pump not to turn on below 45' as not to waste electricity. At this point I am afraid to have my installer back out to work on the system. He does not know what he is doing with heat pumps. Thank you for any ideas . JT
 
  #12  
Old 02-26-07, 06:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dayton area GO Bucks!
Posts: 101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can insist your dealer get in touch with a factory field rep from Trane or go call Trane yourself and press the issue.
 
  #13  
Old 02-26-07, 06:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sgthvac

Thank you for that. I have felt if it is not broken, I do not have a leg to stand on. My dealer calls his suppler and has me change settings in the installer mode. Some help, some don't. I think I will call Trane asap. and see if I can get a rep to look into this. I did not know this was available to me. Thanks JT
 
  #14  
Old 03-09-07, 10:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
TigerDunes you were right

My problem was a low charge 2 pounds down. And improper set up. The dip switches at the furnace were all wrong. My installing dealer did come out and spend about 4 hours working on it. He had someone one on the phone walking him through everything. It seems to be working. I still would like any thoughts on temperature programming.
step 43 heat pump restricted mode 26'
step 44 resume heat pump operation 28'
step 45 heating aggressive recovery 35'
step 46 auxiliary heat lock out 45'
Keep in mind I am in Minnesota. Thanks again JTBurke
 
  #15  
Old 04-04-07, 07:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The problem is back

The heat pump worked well for almost 1 month. As I posted before it was 2 pounds down. After the charge was added the temp. at the register was 87-88'.
4 weeks later the register temp. is 75' at best. Is it possible to have a little leak? But not drain the system. Please let me know your thoughts on this. Thanks JT
 
  #16  
Old 04-04-07, 09:36 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

4 weeks later the register temp. is 75' at best. Is it possible to have a little leak? But not drain the system. Please let me know your thoughts on this. Thanks JT
It sure is. Make sure they look for a leak now and find it and fix it. From what you said this was just put in the first of the year. So its still on their back
 
  #17  
Old 04-06-07, 12:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
JT

Post back and let us know what your installing dealer finds. Keep in mind a refrigerant system is a closed system. Recharging a system without finding the leak is a waste of time. An experienced tech using the correct tools can find the leak usually without any difficulty. Unfortunately, you have been put through the wringer and the one to suffer.

IMO
 
  #18  
Old 04-06-07, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Hi Guys, Thanks for your help. My dealer will be out next Wednesday. He did say he has proper tools for finding a leak. I will post what he finds. Thanks again JT
 
  #19  
Old 04-11-07, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Found A Leak

My Dealer came out today and found the leak right away. It was where the copper line from outside connects into the furnace. He also tested the connection at the heat pump, but with 20 MPH winds he was unable to get an accurate test. He also told me he would like to come out and check it out in the AC mode. My dealer has been good about coming out. I just wish my electric bill was not threw the roof.
I would like to thank everyone for their help. Ill be in touch if I need to point my dealer in the right direction again. Thanks JTBurke
 
  #20  
Old 04-12-07, 10:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy I spoke to soon

Hi all, The dealer was out yesterday, repaired 1 leak, recharged the system. Now it is worse than ever. The HP runs and the register temp does not get past 63'. The thermostat is in heat mode. Is it possible he changed something to make the HP think it is AC mode? I have now demanded he get a Trane rep out here. I have also bypassed the HP again, as not to waste electricity. Sorry I spoke to soon. JTBurke
 
  #21  
Old 04-23-07, 09:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seems to be working

My installer came out one more time. It is now warm in Minnesota so he could test the heat pump in the ac mode. It seems he over charged the HP last time he was out. He wrote down a couple pages of pressure readings and all of the HP settings. He is going to give this info to the Trane rep, to make sure it is set up correctly. All in all it seems to be working. Heat is warm and ac is cool. Thanks again for everyones help. JTBurke
 
  #22  
Old 05-14-07, 08:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More Problems

Ed Imeduc or Tigerdunes, Hi guys J.T. again. A.C. on the register gets to about 62' but the fan does not blow very much. Outside temp was 85' I ran the system for 5 hours temp set at 76'. After 5 hours the house came down to 83' this just can not be right. Could one of you guys email me the phone number of who I need to talk to at Trane to get a field service rep out here. I could not find this info on the Trane website. I am sorry to bug you guys, but I don't want to be hot all summer. Thanks in advance for any help J.T.Burke
 
  #23  
Old 05-15-07, 07:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
JT

Sorry for your troubles.Could you clarify your situation?

Was this first time AC has been used?
What was inside room temperature?
What was your thermostat set at?
Supply temp in low 60s seems OK.

Trane makes it difficult to discuss situations like yours by phone. They do have a feedback site on their website that you can use to detail problems and they usually will respond back by email within 48 hrs. However, they will refer you to the area Trane distributor who most likely has a residential specialist on their staff. Yes, they will make a visit to your home accompanied by a representative of the installing dealer. I would be reasonably certain Trane has a distributor in the St Paul-Minneapolis area. If you don't want to wait for a reply, then get the distributor's name from your installing Trane dealer. BTW, is your installing dealer an authorized Trane dealer? One suggestion, Was a load calculation performed and did you ever see this in writing? If not, I would insist on one. I also would get the factory rep to verify that your dip switches on var spd furnace are set correctly.

Good LucK!

http://www.trane.com/Residential/CustomerCare/Feedback.aspx
 
  #24  
Old 05-15-07, 07:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
TigerDunes, I ran the air conditioning 4/22/07 for about two hours. This was the first time I tried to cool the house down. Inside temp was 85' The thermostat was set at 76 . After 5 hours the temp came 2 degrees. This may be a dip switch problem my installer had me change dip switches 1-4 to the high setting 450/cfm/ton page 12 installer manual.
My Installer is a Trane dealer. He did a great job on my last house. It was a new ac unit and furnace to an existing system. He just does not do many heat pumps.
Is there a way to find out if my fan is set up correctly? The air is cold at the register it just does not move much air.
Lastly He did do a load calc. He had to turn it when he pulled the permit.I have never seen it but I'm sure I could get a copy.Thanks JTBurke
 
  #25  
Old 05-23-07, 01:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

JT

any update on your issues?

TD
 
  #26  
Old 05-23-07, 05:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
waiting

TD, I am still waiting. My dealer wanted to contact the distributer directly. If he does not do this in a reasonable time frame I will email Trane.
My question for you is how much air should my system move? Say if you had a plant next to the vent should it move the leaves? Sorry for the technical comparison. I think he has the fan set wrong. Thanks JT
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: