Does this quote make sense?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-07, 01:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does this quote make sense?

I recieved the quote of 5300 on installation of the following trane system:

4TWR3024A1000A
4TEE3F31A1000A
BAYHTR1410BRKB
HONEYWELL PRO 8000

Wanted to know if the units made sense and if the price was within range. Additionally I can not replace the old R22 pipes, and this looks like R410A system, should i go back and ask for an R22 system.?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-07, 09:39 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Cost I cant say its different all over. I cant find that
4TWR3024A1000A Id say a 2 ton AC & heat pump
I find the TWR20 and a TWR 40 is all .Can be they have a R40 there
That heater is 39,300 btu at 208V
Thats a V/S blower
Yes thats a R410a system. We still try and use the R22 units only. R 22 will be made till 2030. The R410a cost is to high. Also if you have a leak in it . What is left there is not R 410a anymore and it all has to be pull out and all new R410a put in the unit. If you go with the R410a units. The lines have to be bigger or even if they use them make very sure that they clean them out very very good. Have to make sure there is no old oil from the old unit in them at all.
Yes Id say ask for a R22 set up they have them.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-07, 06:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The couple of issues i have are that I am replacing an old unit maybe 15-20 years. I can not replace the old pipes as they run from the heat pump on the roof through another condo unit to my unit. The old pipes are 1/4", so I don't know how much of an issue this is going to be.
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-07, 06:37 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you want too help the enviroment, go with the 410a, BUT, since you say you can't replace your lines, you can't get 410a anyways.
 
  #5  
Old 08-10-07, 03:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool R22 V. 410a

I am replacing my heat pump and have gotten 6 quotes (and 6 different stories, I might add). What I'm mainly concerned with is 4 guys told me to go with the 410A, 2 said the R22. The reasons for the R22 were: company A said my pipes are too small for 410A and comapny B said they would have to change out my pipes but because one goes through my neighbors attic (I live in a villa) and the other underground, they wouldn't be able to change them out. The guy said it was illegal to run the pipe through my neighbors attic (it was done this way by the builder). He also said he couldn't put 410A in a pipe that previously had R22 in it. He said it would void the manufacturers warranty and that flushing it still wouldn't be good enough; that I'd have issues down the road because they can't get all the R22 out of the pipes. I don't want to buy a new unit with old technology, but I don't want to buy new technology that's not going to work right for me. The R22 quote has a 10 yr warranty for compressor, parts and labor. I was wondering if I should go with the R22 unit and that 10 yr warranty. None of the 410A quotes had more than a 5 yr warranty for compressor and parts and 1 yr labor. Any advice????
 
  #6  
Old 08-11-07, 06:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Albunai

Assuming unit is sized correct, there are two issues.

First though, you should verify if quote is for XR14 or XR13 Trane heat pump. The XR14 comes in both R22 and R410 models.

The hard issues

1.If you elect the R-410 frig, then your lineset must be flushed out. Obviously the preferred course of action is to replace but in your case, this does not seem practical. However, I would want this confirmed with a second opinion.

2.Linesets must be sized according to mfg specs to achieve your rated efficiency capability. If its not sized correctly, then you will never get your efficiency.

IMO
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes