changing thermostats

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-07, 06:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
changing thermostats

I have a white rodgers mercury themo now and was given a carrier digital thermo to change out. The only problem I am having is the B wire. The carrier does not call for a B and I was told that I was going to have to jump this wire to another. I do not want to blow up my system, for I was laid off from work and can not afford to replace entire unit. Any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-29-07, 03:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correction

It is the E wire, not B. I was not told correctly which wire needs to be jumped or if it will work at all.
 
  #3  
Old 06-29-07, 05:32 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
List what terminals are on your old t-stat and what wires are currently hooked to them and then list the available terminals of your new t-stat.
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-07, 07:45 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 157
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
E terminal is emergency heat for heat pumps.

Jump W2 and E

This allows the electric heat strips to come on when Auxiliary heat is called for or when the heat pump is bypassed and just the electric heat strips are used in emergency heat.

The Carrier thermostat should also have a C terminal Common.
This terminal is important unless the thermostat purely runs off batteries.

Also do not miss wire the common terminal this could blow a fuse or your transformer in your Inside Unit.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: