Minimum temperature in winter for maximum efficiency

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-07, 08:39 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Minimum temperature in winter for maximum efficiency

Hi
Is there any study done or resources where i can find what is the minimum temperature to be maintained in the house to get maximum efficiency.
For example when you go for work what is the temperature to be set inside the house, or at night when you are using only bedroom what should be the temperature in the house.
So it wont use a lot of energy in morning or in evening to warm it.
We keep the temperature at about 70 when in home and using the whole house.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-12-07, 08:46 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The greatest efficiency would come from setting it to zero, turning it off. It's as simple as that.

But of course then your pipes freeze.

This whole business about using more energy to catch up during the few minutes in the morning than it would have ALL NIGHT is dicey, to put it nicely.
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-07, 05:28 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

WE tell people with the heat pump. Set it and let it alone. Anytime you have that 2o drop the tstat will turn the elements on to bring the home back up to temp. So you lost what you saved
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-07, 05:40 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: us
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Imeduc View Post
WE tell people with the heat pump. Set it and let it alone. Anytime you have that 2o drop the tstat will turn the elements on to bring the home back up to temp. So you lost what you saved


Isn't your theory incorrect if you have a two stage unit with a programmable theromstat? For argument sake I have such a unit and I set my temp back about 4 deg. at night. My second stage will not come on unless the temp coming out is less than 90 deg.
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-07, 06:10 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Mine is 2 degress!
 
  #6  
Old 12-13-07, 04:47 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

[QUOTEI set my temp back about 4 deg. at night. My second stage will not come on unless the temp coming out is less than 90 deg.][/QUOTE]
Then in the morning the elements will come on to help pick you back up 2o there ,then shut off.
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-07, 05:44 PM
Pendragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,851
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
All depends on how you've got it set up, and what kind of thermostat you have.

I have a thermostat that 'learns' how long it takes to go from one setting to the other, and will start the cycle early enough to reach the target temp on time so it doesn't use the elements.

In addition, my unit is wired so that I can turn the elements off with a flip of a breaker. This is where I have it now as it prett much never gets cold enough in florida to need them, and I don't have to worry about them getting 'stuck' on.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: