iced over heat pump?

Old 12-14-07, 11:44 AM
Z
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
iced over heat pump?

Thanks in advance for any advice. We have a relatively new, 15 month old, Trane heat pump (not sure model #) that has been iceing over this winter. It seems to work fine and if I switch to AC, you can see one of the pipes actually defrost. After reading some of the other posts, I'm thinking I have a problem with the defrost control. I called a tech to come look, but they want $100 just to come to the house and then estimated about $450 to fix it. Is this something a fairly competent person could fix themselves? And if so, how much would a part like this cost and where could I get one?
Thanks!

Old 12-14-07, 02:04 PM
G
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I'm not an expert but it could have a couple diff. problems#1 your reversing valve but then if your ac works it is not that so maybe your therm-stat or your defrost sequential timer ? if it has one.

Old 12-14-07, 02:06 PM
T
zacnmic

outside HP condenser should be under warranty for part-you will probably be responsible for labor.

First the problem needs to be diagnosed by an HVAC pro. I would start with installing dealer.

Good Luck!

Old 12-14-07, 03:44 PM
Z
Thanks for replying. I'll probably have the tech come out and take a look. I just hate having to pay a $100 and hour to fix something that should last longer than a year. The part may be warranteed, but the labor isn't.

Old 12-14-07, 04:07 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

IF IF like around here and you had the ice storms. You might take a hose and try and melt the ice off . Let it run in AC also for a time . Or go over the EME heat for that time. Make sure the top is open and the fan can blow air out. Might just try this first . If it ice's up again call a tech for sure. As I say this is is just a IF IF. That we have had with the ice storm.

Old 12-18-07, 11:22 AM
Z