Question About Programming Braeburn Thermostat


  #1  
Old 12-17-07, 12:12 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Question About Programming Braeburn Thermostat

Hi folks. Let me start off by saying that I hope you will please excuse my ignorance.

My sister moved into a new apartment in a brand new complex that features the Braeburn 1200 Thermostat.

While it says in the manual that its "non-programmable," you can set certain temps on it. I'm not good at this stuff, my sister is worse, and we can't figure out what we're supposed to do. Here is a link to the manual:

http://www.braeburnonline.com/pdfs/1200_manual.pdf

Right now the temp says 75 degrees, the set temp is 62, and the switch is on heat.

Can someone explain to us how these things work and how to set it for both heating and cooling?

Last night we turned the heat on and it seemed as if cool air was coming into the rooms, but hot air was coming into the bathrooms.

Please excuse the dumbness of the question and a happy holiday to all!
 
  #2  
Old 12-17-07, 02:18 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

That www you had there will tell you all you need to work it. From that I take it you have a heatpump there. So just turn to heat and set the temp for what you want. If or when the heat pump cant keep up then the electric elements should kick in to help. Also when the outdoor unit goes into defrost the blower in side will turn on and the electric elements also so the unit dont blow cool air into the home. At anytime you can turn the tstat to EME or AUX heat . Then the unit will run just the electric elements to heat the home. What you do want to check and make sure you have a clean air filter there in the unit.
The air from the heat pump will feel cool to you.
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-07, 02:59 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks!

Ed,

I appreciate the quick response and certainly appreciate the time you took to answer.

What I don't understand is that if I have the set temperature at 62 and the outside temp is 40, then why is the room temp reading at 75? Isn't it supposed to go to the set temp?

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-07, 03:07 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

If the tstat reads 75 --IF ITS RIGHT that should be the room temp then. The room should have to cool off to that 62 that you have it set for. Then the heat should turn on. Also like if you push the tstat up to 76 then the heat should turn on. With the tstat set to heat.
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-07, 03:32 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ahhh...

Ed,

Now I get the concept and also the fact that it must go in the opposite way for cooling.

Thanks again!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: