Thermostat-Honeywell RTH7000 Series wiring problems

Old 04-14-08, 08:50 AM
I
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat-Honeywell RTH7000 Series wiring problems

This is my first attempt to seek advice from this forum, but since Ive gotten a lot of useful tips from reading it in recent times, I thought that maybe I could find the answer to a problem were having. In short, my son decided to replace his existing thermostat with a programmable Honeywell TRH7000 Series unit. Unfortunately, it appears that the wiring for the old thermostat was somewhat different than the new unit. Moreover, inasmuch as he lives in a different area from me, Im unable to physically help him. As a result weve been communicating via telephone and the internet but have not been successful. Ive made a few suggestions, but they apparently didnt work. Anyhow, heres the situation.

The old thermostat included the following 7 terminals connected to the color-coded wires as indicated:
B-blue
G-green
Y-yellow
U-orange
R-red
E-black
Y2-white (he says its beige, but Im presuming its a dirty white)
Nevertheless, before he disconnected anything, he marked all of the wiring so as to indicate from which terminal each wire was connected.

The Honeywell RTH 700 Series provides a PDF installation instructional manual online (http://customer.honeywell.com/techli.../69-2104ES.pdf) setting forth the following terminals:
R
RC
O/B
Y
G
C
L
E
AUX
The instructions indicate that R and RC include a jumper, and that the jumper is to remain in place. For the most part, these instructions are fairly clear and straightforward, but in some key areas the instructions fall short.

Specifically, the instructions make no mention of the possiblities of a terminal on the old thermostat named U. But since the new thermostat includes a terminal designated O/B, he connected the wire (orange) that was formerly connected to U, to O/B. Obviously, this was simply a guess, but it seemed to be the most reasinable chice given the options.