Wiring for tstat when line is at the heater.

Old 12-10-08, 11:22 PM
W
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring for tstat when line is at the heater.

Hey all,

Thanks in advance for your help. I am fairly new to electrical but have done some residential lighting branch circuit wiring, but this is my first time dealing with heat and thermostats. In my family room there are two heaters, both 240-volt Cadet ZA-202 wall heaters rated 2000 watts@240-volts. There was a mechanical-style thermostat installed to control both heaters, but the confusing part is how it's connected. SP is the service panel, S is the single-pole thermostat, and H1 and H2 are the heaters:

The circuit uses 10 gauge NM-B 2-wire with both conductors used as ungrounded "hot" conductors and each conductor protected by a 20A CB. Not having a grounded neutral conductor is messing with my head, but that aside, I don't understand how this works. In this scenario, my logic tells me that the thermostat would have no control over the heaters. The heaters would be receiving uninterrupted current from the service panel because the tstat is not in-line with the heaters. I guess I am not understanding the flow of electric current.

I'd like to install a programmable double-pole thermostat to control the circuit, but as far as I can tell, that isn't possible without the line coming into the thermostat, which would dictate either re-wiring or moving the thermostat. I read once somewhere that double-pole thermostats are a code requirement for 240-volt circuits in the U.S. Anyone know if that's true? I live in Oregon.

Thanks,
William

Old 12-11-08, 06:37 PM
D
Originally Posted by wmcglass View Post
The circuit uses 10 gauge NM-B 2-wire with both conductors used as ungrounded "hot" conductors and each conductor protected by a 20A CB. Not having a grounded neutral conductor is messing with my head