Building first house - heat pump choices

Old 01-11-09, 07:59 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Building first house - heat pump choices

Hi! I'm new here, so I hope you'll be a little patient with me.

I'm going to start building my first house next month. Wanted to get some advice based on some quotes I've recieved for heat pumps and air handlers. I've done a lot of reading on here, and learned a lot, as I'm a newbie when it comes to HVAC stuff.

Some of the basics/background info:
  1. I'm building a house with ~ 2900 heated sq ft, pretty evenly divided across 2 floors. I have unfinished space above the garage and also an unfinished basement that I've excluded for now and will come back to in the future, most likely with their own units.
  2. The house will be in the warmer part of the Carolina's, so it usually stays above freezing a good portion of winter, and gets hot and humid with a fairly long summer.
  3. My builder's HVAC sub has come back with an initial heat load calculation that would require 2, 2.5 ton heat pumps. One for downstairs one for upstairs.

My questions/thoughts:
I'm not really sure what direction to head. Right now I have a few different quotes, for a few different types of systems.

1) A Ruud 13 SEER unit (UPNL030JAZ) with a standard air handler (UHSLHM3017JA) - BASE Offering/Price

2) A Ruud 14 SEER (Heat Pump - UPNL030JAZ and AH - UHLLHM3617JA) - BASE + $1200

2) A Lenox 13 SEER HP (13HPD-030) with a standard air handler (CB26UH-030-R) - BASE + ~$600

3) A few different Trane units, with a variable speed air handlers.
a) Trane XL15i Heat Pump System (Delivers 15.75 SEER, 9.0 HSPF) Heat Pumps Model #4TWX5030 w/ Trane Air-Tite Variable Speed Air Handler Model #4TEE3F39A
WARRANTY: Trane 10-Year Parts, 10-Year Compressor & Coil. Local HVAC Company 2-Year Parts & Labor.- BASE + $3,800