York Heat pump code issue question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-09, 07:34 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York Heat pump code issue question

My problem started with me getting code 5. Had we added freon. Then started getting code 2. Reduced the amount of freon and now get code 5 again. I was told I have a possible bad tx switch. Anyone know anything about York Heat pumps?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-09, 06:50 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 795
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Who is adding and removing freon from the system and why?
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-09, 03:02 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Tech that has been working on it. It hasn't helped the problem.
 
  #4  
Old 02-06-09, 04:54 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 795
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I think you need to find another more qualified tech. What is the M# of your unit, I would have to guess that code 5 is low press lock out and code 2 is high press lock out, won't know with out the M#
 
  #5  
Old 02-06-09, 05:13 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oor Tech has been pretty good over the years. Model E2FH024. You are right about the codes. After we got the original code (5) he added freon. Then a few days later we started getting code (2) so he reduced the amount some to see if the problem would clear. The code 2 cleared but 5 came back. He tells me he may need to clear a filter in some line that carries freon (?). Also he's going to "blow" out the copper piping between the indoor unit and outdoor unit. Is he on the right path?
 
  #6  
Old 02-06-09, 10:31 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 795
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It very well could be a bad TXV, a good tech should be able to figure that out. As far as the charge goes, the only way to know for SURE it has the right charge is to recover the system and weigh in the factory specified charge.
 
  #7  
Old 02-06-09, 09:21 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 93
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The last post is probably right. How is the unit heating? Mine had dropped a lot and Tech found a plugged filter drier and the TXV died in the process also. Heating great now. A good Tech is needed to fix this one as it requires careful work opening and closing the system. If you go into A/C mode does the codes clear?
 
  #8  
Old 02-13-09, 11:49 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

The Tech changed out the outside unit freon filter. Codes cleared. Thanks for the help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: