Trane XL15i installed but questions..


  #1  
Old 02-07-09, 01:20 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XL15i installed but questions..

Hi Guys,

I have a few questions about an installation of a Trane system I got done today. The equipment installed is as follows:

4TWX5036A1000A - XL15i 3ton
4TEE3F39B1000A - Trane Variable speed Air handler
BAYHTR1405000A - Trane 5kw aux heat

Now few issues:

1. I have since discovered my thermostat is the wrong sort and I am going to get the right sort as mine only has terminals labled O, Y, G, RC, RH, C, L, B and they are connected as follows:
T'stat -> 4TEE -> 4TWX
O -> O -> Orange wire
Y to W -> Y -> yellow wire
G -> G -> nothing
C -> B -> blue wire
RH to RC -> R to BK -> red wire
nothing -> W2 -> white wire

now on the 4TEE end they have a wire connected to W2 which does not connect to anything at the tstat? Also the manual mentions connecting various combinations of W1 W2 and W3??

2. How important is removing the Horizontal Drip tray as mentioned in the manual for efficency? They did not remove it even though the unit is upflow

3. Same question but for the Baffle to narrow baffle?

4. How do I know if I have an outdoor thermostat on the 4TWX?

5. In the 4TEE there is a small series of dip switches left by the installers in the factory settings, I have already switched 5 & 6 on to run the fan in enhanced mode. How do the first 4 work?

Anything else I should be looking for?

Cheers

Chris
 
  #2  
Old 02-07-09, 01:26 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: johnson county, ks
Posts: 338
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do you know you have the wrong indoor t-stat?
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-09, 01:31 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
how do you know you have the wrong indoor t-stat?
Because I have a heat pump with Aux heat and according to the manual I downloaded lastnight:

Description
Heat Pump (No Aux. or Emergency Heat) Yes
Heat Pump (with Aux. or Emergency Heat) No

So I will order a new one and replace it as long as the 6 wires in the wall are enough to run the system.

Cheers

Chris
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: