Hybrid-Method Installation - DIY and Pro

Old 02-11-09, 07:01 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hybrid-Method Installation - DIY and Pro

I've decided I need to add a heat pump to get more efficiency out of my 5 year old Carrier furnace, and to add cooling capacity for my house in the summer. This will be a hybrid system since it does fall below the 20 degree limit here in MT.

I've had several bids, and these systems are coming in at $9k or so. I found that I can purchase the unit and installation materials for under $3500, and do most of the install myself, and hire a pro with certification to finish up and charge the system.

I GC'd my house, do lots of mechanical work, plumbing, etc. I have a fairly high degree of confidence in my ability if I take my time. But, I'd like to get some reassurance, or even words of "don't do it, pay the extra money!"

Can you guys/gals give me a sense of if this is a doable project? It appears the company does offer the factor warranty, provides instructional and tech support, and helps find a local "moonlighter" company to help you finish the job.

Thanks!

Old 02-11-09, 07:52 AM
D
In consultation with and under the careful supervision of a pro I see nothing wrong with your approach. Find someone a pro that is willing to work with you, divide the tasks, pick the ones you feel you can do safely and then have the pro do the rest. Of course any work you do is not under warranty.

Old 02-11-09, 12:44 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I agree with dac, you may not want to go this one alone.
Good Luck

Old 02-12-09, 06:49 AM
I would call the dealers first before you order the unit, cuz I've seen a few online dealer list a dealer to "help" out, and that they never asked to be listed, and they refuse to do it.

I know there some people got burned by the on line dealer cuz they won't cover warranty.

Did you just get one quote, or a few? The 9k seems pretty high just for a HP system.

Old 02-12-09, 07:01 AM
B