Trane Heat Pump Assistance

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-09, 02:41 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane Heat Pump Assistance

Despite my best effort to find a good installer, the installation of a new heat pump system has been a nightmare. Thankfully, with persistence, I have been able to get problems resolved.

However, over the weekend, I realized that during the defrost cycle, the auxiliary heat does not kick in. I had 40 degree air coming out of the registers during the defrost cycle. Outside temperature was in the high 20s. When I put the system in emergency heat mode, I did get warm air from the registers. There must be a wiring problem. Before I call in the installer again, I would like to find out what is the correct wiring. I don’t plan to change any of the wiring myself, I just would like to know what is correct so I can make sure the job is done right.

Below is the information on the equipment and how they are wired:

Trane Heat Pump: 4TWX5024A1000A
Air Handler: 4TEE3F1B1000A
Thermostat: TCONT802AS32DAA
10 KW back-up heat: WBAYHTR1410BRKR

The wiring is as follows:

Thermostat > Air Handler > Heat Pump

Red > Red > Red
Orange > Orange > Orange
Blue > Blue > Blue
Yellow > Yellow > Yellow
Green > Green > Green (not wired – just hanging loose)
W1 –white > W1 –white

The dip switches on the air handler are set as follows for Comfort-R:

1 off
2 on
3 off
4 off
5 on
6 on
7 on
8 off

The green wire to the heat pump is connected at the air handler, but just hanging down and not connected to anything at the heat pump.

Also, my understanding was the auxiliary heat was to go on in two stages. Is the wiring setup to do this?

Any help that can be provided will be gratefully appreciated. I just want the system to run correctly. Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 02-17-09, 10:13 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 433
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The white that runs from the air handler out to HP will need to be wired to the HP's control board and your air handler's W1. Without knowing your HP and tstat that white from your tstat to air handler may have to flow out to your HP first.

That's the general idea.
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-09, 01:36 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by tjc786 View Post
Air Handler: 4TEE3F1B1000A
What's the full model #?

This how it should be wired up.

T-Stat-------Air Handler---------Heat Pump

R/Rc--Red-------R-----Red------R
O-----Orange----O----Orange----O
B-----Blue--------B---Blue-------B
Y----Yellow-------Y----Yellow-----Y
X2---???-------W2/W3--??-------X2
G----Green-------G
W1-–white-------W1

The dip switches on the air handler are set as follows for Comfort-R:
So far it looks OK, but I need the full model # of the air handler.

The green wire to the heat pump is connected at the air handler, but just hanging down and not connected to anything at the heat pump.
Green wire is not needed to go to the HP.

Also, my understanding was the auxiliary heat was to go on in two stages. Is the wiring setup to do this?
No, X2 is not wired up to W2/W3

What are the settings set to in the installer set up menu?
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-09, 08:02 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the help. I will check for complete model information. What do you mean by "What are the settings set to in the installer set up menu?"

thanks again. I appreciate the help
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-09, 12:23 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installer set up menu on the t-stat.

Example, 240 is set to 3.. ect.
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-09, 06:42 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
air handler model is: 4TEE3F31B1000A

thermostat menu:

any number not listed did not come up:

0120 20
0130 09
0140 2
0150 18
0160 4
0170 7
0200 0
0220 3
0250 9
0270 9
0280 0
0300 0
0320 0
0330 2
0340 0
0500 0
0510 0
0530 1
0540 4
0580 5
0600 90
0610 50
0640 12
0650 0
0660 0
0670 0
0680 2
0690 2
0700 0
0710 0


thanks again for the help
 
  #7  
Old 02-18-09, 09:08 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All the settings are good, just a couple of suggestions.

0250 and 0270, I suggest 3, I know the book says 9, 3 give a better comfort.

0280 to 1 will make a good night light.


0330, Does you area use the new DST?
 
  #8  
Old 02-18-09, 09:31 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Only dip switch 7 and 8 needs to be changed..

7 off, 8 on.

With the setting now, the aux heat air flow is a little bit more air than needed, but nothing to worry about, and would suggest setting to what I suggest.
 
  #9  
Old 02-19-09, 06:39 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks. I will check out everything you indicated. I have another question. do you have any information on what I should expect for air temperatures after the air handler with varying outside temperatures. Basically, what should I expect for temperature rise from the heat pump. I keep the house at 70 degrees. thanks again. you have been most helpful

outside temperature temp after air handler

60
55
50
45
40
35
30
25
 
  #10  
Old 02-19-09, 07:11 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is no chart for what the temps should be coming out of the air handler for HP system.

HP are best to set it and forget it. The air is not going to be like gas heat.. As long it can keep the home's temp, and with the help of the Aux heat I wouldn't worry about the temps.
 
  #11  
Old 02-21-09, 09:48 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the information I will follow-up. perhaps you can help me on another issue. I would like to make sure I'm using the right type of filter for the air handler.

I have been using Flanders Naturalaire Standard Merv 8 which is a pleated filter. In the winter, I have been changing the filter every two weeks. I don't mind the few extra dollars for filters if I am protecting the system, etc.

Is this the Flanders Naturalaire right type of filter to use. If not, can you suggest filters and why they should be used.

Again, I just interested in making sure the system runs right.

thanks.
 
  #12  
Old 02-21-09, 10:31 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Those filter are perfect. 2 weeks a bit too much, once a month is fine for them.
 
  #13  
Old 02-21-09, 06:51 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
jay,

just a clarification before I call in the contractor again.

You indicated that in order for the aux heat to go on with the heat pump is in the defrost cycle, X2 at the thermostat should be connected to "W2/W3"? at the air handler to X2 at the heat pump.

My question is: should the wire at the air handler be connected to both W2 and W3 via a jumper, or only either W2 or W3.

thanks again. I appreciate your help.
 
  #14  
Old 02-21-09, 08:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by tjc786 View Post
You indicated that in order for the aux heat to go on with the heat pump is in the defrost cycle, X2 at the thermostat should be connected to "W2/W3"? at the air handler to X2 at the heat pump.
Correct.

My question is: should the wire at the air handler be connected to both W2 and W3 via a jumper, or only either W2 or W3.
One wire from T-stat's X2 can go any of the W2 or W3, and a jumper between the two, and a wire from HP's X2 on it.

X2---------W2/W3-----------X2
 
  #15  
Old 02-22-09, 10:50 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
jay,
thanks for the clarification. I feel better about this when I have to talk to the installer.
I noted your comment about the filter. I got the filters at a bulk rate so for the extra $2+ per month, I just making sure everything is ok.
Anything else I should know before I talk to the installer.
Thanks again, and I will post an update for you after the installer is back.

thanks again
 
  #16  
Old 02-22-09, 07:02 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These are pretty easy fix, and if for some reason they won't do it, you can do it easly yourself.
 
  #17  
Old 03-03-09, 06:53 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
jay,

another question. it has been very cold, in the 20s. I noted that the aux heat does not come on - even with the very cold outside temperature. Air temperture from the handler is around 80-82 at this very low outside temp. Is this normal for the aux heat not to come on? I have the house set at 69-70 and have been able to maintain temp. just wondering if there is another wiring problem.
thanks
 
  #18  
Old 03-03-09, 07:21 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the HP is able to keep temp, then the Aux won't be needed until the house temps falls behind, then you'll see Aux come on the screen.
 
  #19  
Old 03-19-09, 04:35 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane heat pump compressor

My heat pump is tripping the circuit breaker and repairman said the compressor is tripping the breaker and I need a new one Does this sound right? Cost of new Trane compressor would be $1,800. Also, can I buy a compressor somewhere and find a technician to install it and save some money?
 
  #20  
Old 03-19-09, 07:47 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by minishirl View Post
My heat pump is tripping the circuit breaker and repairman said the compressor is tripping the breaker and I need a new one Does this sound right? Cost of new Trane compressor would be $1,800. Also, can I buy a compressor somewhere and find a technician to install it and save some money?
Mini,

You could get another quote from another Trane dealer if you want. but I would not suggest you buying a compressor from someone online, and ask a dealer to put it in.. If there was something wrong with that compressor you got else where, you are on your own getting this taken care of.

Where if you get the dealer to get the compressor from their supplier, and if something wrong, they can go back to the supplier and get another one right away.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: