Wiring thermostat to existing heat pump


  #1  
Old 10-15-09, 06:52 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Wiring thermostat to existing heat pump

I purchased a Honeywell RTH7500 thermostat. I have a Trane unit. I wired up the thermostat as per the diagram. Every time I turn on the unit it runs the heat. It has the following wires from the Trane unit to go to the terminals:
R, O, Y, B, G X2, W

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 10-15-09, 07:06 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
You must configure your new stat for heatpump operation. Set option 170 to 7 and option 190 to 0.

Be sure that your old B is connected to your new C and your old X2 is your new E.

Wires can break, and color substitutions are commonly made. Use your old color code and not my examples. So if your old X2 was a different color, your new E will be that color.



http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...7500config.jpg


http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...04/Baystat.jpg



http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...04/RTH7500.jpg
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-09, 07:28 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Talking That did the trick!

Thanks. I did what you said and it works great.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: