Heat pump question from a Yankee newly moved to Northeastern Fla.

Old 02-14-10, 08:56 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heat pump question from a Yankee newly moved to Northeastern Fla.

Having always needed a full blown heat system in the Northeast, so I have no experience with cooling/heat pump systems. Whehe I live now, the temp does go down to 30 or so some time, so I need some type of heating system. My house is large and I have 3 zoned heating/air conditioning units. The house is 3500 s.f. with 5 baths, so the 3 zones come in handy from a comfort standpoint. The oldest system is completely shot and I need to replace it. Will a heat pump with electric heat strips-which is what the other 2 have- be the best option? The zone that I need to replace only consists of a large bedroom, a large bathroom and a large walk in closet, totaling around 800 sq. feet. I am considering a 1.5 ton system, but is is only rated 13 seer. Should I go for a more efficent (higher seer) unit or would the payback to cover the inital cost difference be worth it. We are only planning on living in this house until our daughter graduates from school in 2 more years and then downsizing to a smaller place. Thanks for any advise, Ray

Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-10, 05:41 AM
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Do you have 3 heat pumps or or three zone's or is each heat pump zoned? In your area id put in a heat pump and at least a 15 SEER unit.

Old 02-15-10, 05:44 AM
T
Jeeper

a HP is your best choice.

what size are you replacing? what age and brand?

since you plan to move in several years, I would say a basic 13SEER system would be fine. However, the upgrade cost to a better system would probably be offset by the Fed Govt tax credit up to $1500. That would be my choice.

do you live near coast or interior location?

I can make some recommendations if you like.

IMO
Good Luck!

Old 02-15-10, 11:30 AM
J
thanks