Radiant floor heat question.

Old 03-21-10, 08:46 PM
W
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Radiant floor heat question.

I am just getting started on a project and one of the things we are deciding on is radiant floor heat. In the kitchen for sure we are going with tile and are going to put radiant heat under it. In the adjoined dining/sitting-tv room we don't know for sure if we are going carpet or tile. If we go tile the job of finding radiant heat is not too bad. If we go with carpet we are going to put radiant heat under that because it is a room that has no basement and the room does not heat evenly which leaves it sometimes uncomfortable in the cold season.
For tile floors are there any recommendations that you have for a good radiant heat. I do have some that I have found that look good but some of you have some good pointers.
The hard one is if we do decide to do carpet there has been a very limited choice to chose from. Anyone with some good leads? Thanks.

Old 03-22-10, 08:11 AM
W
Because of the no heat issue under the room it tends to be cooler and uncomfortable. Is there anything else a person would suggest to use to help out the situation?

Old 03-22-10, 04:48 PM
Are you looking at hot water heat, or electric heat for this?

For the cool room, is there a basement or crawl space under it?

Old 03-22-10, 06:37 PM
W
Electric radiant heat is what I am looking at.

There is no heated space below this room. That is the problem. There is not enough insulation between the ground and the floor. I am taking up the floor and adding a ton of insulation also.

Old 03-23-10, 05:49 AM
I think pretty much any brand electric floor heat will work. I've only been around a couple, and couldn't point to the right one.

But before you do anything get some insulation on the cold floors. I take there no crawl space to get in there?

Old 03-23-10, 05:53 AM
W
No, it is a converter garage so there is no crawl space.

Old 03-23-10, 06:48 AM
W