multistage aux heat coils?

Old 12-18-10, 11:22 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
multistage aux heat coils?

I have what appears to be 4 heating coils for Aux heat on 2 different levels.
Meaning 2 coils on top of each other forming a stack, and I have 4 stacks.

Is this considered multistage aux heating?
If so, how are they suppose to work?
Aux heat is 20KW, older Lennox.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-10, 05:07 AM
P
Since nobody's answered you yet, I'll mention what I think is happening. I'm a retired electronic technician not a certified tech on heat pumps so take this with a grain of salt and check further with an expert (and not necessarily the technician you get from a certified business as some are in the learning mode and not really trained on how a heat pump works) before you do anything.
I installed two systems one with four 5 kw heat coils (like you have) and one with two or three coils. if I remember right on the second unit. I lived in the basement while building a house on the farm (legal in our area) and the first winter while trying to heat while building I hooked up the Goodman air handler for heat. We were freezing with a single stage hookup and I found after much research that I was operating on just two heat coils. After connecting the white wire on my system to the brown wire (on air handler heat coils) I had all four coming on and heating. I think that with a two stage indoor thermostat you could phase in the top two coils (white wire) and then the bottom two coils (brown wire). I just left the two connected so they all four come on at the same time when I changed out the indoor thermostat to operate the heat pump and the air handler after installing heat pump. As I said before don't do this because I did just for information only. But yes, the top two are seperate from the bottom two in my case.

Old 12-20-10, 05:31 AM