Appropriate Heat Pump Pressure Readings

Old 02-20-11, 01:45 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Appropriate Heat Pump Pressure Readings

I understand and respect the rules about describing the technique for using refrigerant on the forum. I am NOT interested in messing around with the refrigerant in my new Carrier, Infinity heat pump.

That being said, I have many years experience with automotive AC and was involved in research and development of new lubricants during the change over from R12 to R-134A before I retired from a major oil company automotive laboratory back in 1993.

Last Spring, I had a new Carrier, Infinity installed and I am very happy with my choice. It does everything that Carrier says it will and so far with no maintenace.

I intend to have the first annual service on the unit within the next month or so and I suspect the technician will check the system pressures. When I had my previous heatpump serviced, there was sometimes disagreement about the appropriate pressure readings. On one occasion, the technician told me the system refrigerant charge was low. Six months later a different technician (same company) said the pressures were too high.

I know that ambiant temperature has much to do with determining the proper pressure and I have used pressure readings on automotive systems to help me determine if a system was charged properly. However, there is a rather wide low to high band that is considered normal pressure in any given system. I never relied on just pressure and always use outlet temperature and ambient temperature at the condenser to help adjust the refrigerant level.

I felt much more comfortable when I evacuated the system and weighed in the designated amount of refrigerant. When I did that, the pressures were always right on target and the outlet temperature was usually at it's lowest designated temperature.