Tempstar heating problem


  #1  
Old 11-01-11, 09:21 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar heating problem

I have a Tempstar PA5542AK that the heating elements are not getting hot in. I checked the continuty and thet seam to be getting 110 volt at both ends and through the limiters. Can any one help?
 
  #2  
Old 11-01-11, 02:06 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,537
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
Your unit needs 240VAC to the heat strips to give you any heat.
You will need 24VAC to the contactor to allow this.
Continuity tests should be performed with all power to unit removed.

A service call can be much cheaper than a trip to the emergency room.
Be Safe.

Your manual.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-11, 02:42 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did the continuity test with all power off and all wires disconected from the strips. I do have some electrical experience. I checked the voltage at each end of the heat strip one at a time. Should I be getting 220 volt by checking both ends at the same time?
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-11, 04:32 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
with power off you should not get any voltage anywhere in the unit.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-11, 04:48 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
right

Right I did the continuity test reattached all wiring turned the breakers back on set the t stat to heat and auto the fan comes on and there is power going to the elements. I checked the voltage at the sequensers I ony have 19 volts from the control panel.
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-11, 04:55 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
ok, DO you have a heat pump also? If yes, we will go down that road alter, if NO, then you need to check R to C and C to W with stat calling for heat.
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-11, 05:05 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

No heat pump,I will check those and get back to you.thanks
 
  #8  
Old 11-02-11, 02:09 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
R to C on the timer board has 24.4 volts
C on the timer board to W on the sequencer has 26.5 volts
 
  #9  
Old 11-02-11, 08:46 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
that is a different value then you had before at the sequencer, still no heat form strip heaters? If no, then bad sequencer or limit. Need to check voltage out of sequencer to strip heater and through the limit.
 
  #10  
Old 11-06-11, 08:16 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have 110 volt out of the sequencers and through the limiters. I did a test on the sequencers. with 24 volts through the coils I had continuity through h-1 to h-2 and through h-3 to h-4. I then shut off all power and disconnected the 24 volt wires from the sequencer coils and checked the omhs I had 58 on the two stack and 86 on the three stack.
funny thing is if I start the heat with the fan disconnected the heat will cycle and run if I connect the fan before the limits kick and it runs fine until the termostat turns it off.
Sorry it took so long to get back but had to go out of town.
Thanks for your help.
 
  #11  
Old 11-09-11, 03:11 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Not sure what else to tell you. You are going to need a pro.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: