Click-click-click from air handler once set temperature is reached


  #1  
Old 11-05-11, 02:10 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Click-click-click from air handler once set temperature is reached

In regular heat mode, once the temperature reaches the level set on the thermostat, my air handler starts making this noise:

recording of air handler click sound

The air handler does not shut off but rather keeps making this noise until turned off at the thermostat. The issue does not affect emergency heat mode.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to diagnose and repair the problem?
 
  #2  
Old 11-05-11, 06:26 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This don't make the noise if the temp is colder than set point.... But once it reaches temp where it should shut off, this noise comes around??

Make and model # on the air handler?
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-11, 06:48 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I cycled the heat on and off a couple of times, and here's a few more things that I noticed:

* The air coming out of the registers is not very warm, though it does gradually increase room temperature
* The clicking noise is very similar to the sound that auxiliary heat makes when it is coming on. That's the only other time I noticed a sound coming from the air handler, though I'd be glad to test it some more.

Make: Trane
Model: 2TEC3F6A1000AA
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-11, 05:16 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm going to see what HVACtech has to say when he comes around.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-11, 03:39 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
see if any of the breakers are tripped. Trane typically uses contactors so one of them could be bad or one of the breakers may have tripped and therefore you are not heating as much, but if one is tripped then there are other issues that woule require a PRO. These air handlers with backup strip heaters contain HIGH VOLTAGE! If you don't feel you know what you are doing or are at all hesitant then call a PRO. No reason to risk your life to save a couple bucks!
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-11, 04:01 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hvactechfw View Post
see if any of the breakers are tripped. Trane typically uses contactors so one of them could be bad or one of the breakers may have tripped and therefore you are not heating as much, but if one is tripped then there are other issues that woule require a PRO. These air handlers with backup strip heaters contain HIGH VOLTAGE! If you don't feel you know what you are doing or are at all hesitant then call a PRO. No reason to risk your life to save a couple bucks!
Thanks for the help! Are you referring to internal breakers that are a part of the air handler?
 
  #7  
Old 11-06-11, 06:36 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Could be those or at the main.
 
  #8  
Old 11-07-11, 04:31 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have checked the house breaker panel and nothing is being tripped there. I'm comfortable opening the air handler to help diagnose the problem & see if there are internal breakers tripped, but I'm not sure which 'quadrant' of the handler to open up.

Here's a photo of the unit:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11998065/100_0989.JPG
 
  #9  
Old 11-07-11, 05:08 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The breaker for the air handler itself, behind that grey door in the upper door on the unit. The relays are behind the door.
 
  #10  
Old 11-07-11, 05:35 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A hah. I had not pulled back the fiberglass behind that door when I looked before.

I can see one 30-amp breaker in there, not tripped:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11998065/100_0991.JPG
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11998065/100_0996.JPG

It looks like there could be room for another breaker - the air handler is set up to draw more than 30 amps in the main panel. This heat pump was cooling fine in the summer, but this will be my first winter with it, by the way.

Thank you all for the help so far.
 
  #11  
Old 11-07-11, 06:14 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If this is your first winter, I am guessing this is less than a year old?

If so, I would not mess with it, and call your installing dealer to get this looked at under warranty.
 
  #12  
Old 11-07-11, 06:16 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
If this is your first winter, I am guessing this is less than a year old?
I wish! I just bought the place recently, the air handler is supposed to be about 8-10 years old.
 
  #13  
Old 11-07-11, 06:54 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh ok.

What's the model # on this unit? Then we can see what's running the relay(s).
 
  #14  
Old 11-07-11, 07:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That'd be great. It's a Trane, Model# 2TEC3F6A1000AA
 
  #15  
Old 11-07-11, 03:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see one relay and that is for the fan motor.. Is the fan staying on the whole time or does it seem to slow up and down?

You then may have another relay for the heat coil. I am not able to find a diagram for this.. HVACtechFW will have to chime in when he gets a chance.
 
  #16  
Old 11-07-11, 04:48 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
it has to be the contactors for the strip heaters making the noise. I would call a PRO.
 
  #17  
Old 11-07-11, 05:00 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
I see one relay and that is for the fan motor.. Is the fan staying on the whole time or does it seem to slow up and down?

You then may have another relay for the heat coil. I am not able to find a diagram for this.. HVACtechFW will have to chime in when he gets a chance.
The fan doesn't seem to be changing speed at all.

It's pretty hard to find a HVAC contractor in these parts. Sounds like I may have to go that route after all though.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: