Aux Heat always on

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-11, 03:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aux Heat always on

So, I just changed from a Mercury filled to digital thermostat.

I have an Intertherm Heat Pump w/ aux and emergency heat.

The thermostat I got was a Hunter 44132, and the install was pretty easy, but I guess I need someone to check my work since it says my Aux heat is running every time it kicks on.

Old set up:
Blue - X
White - W2
Red - R
Green - G
Orange - O
Yellow - Y
Brown - E

New Set up
Red - R
Yellow - Y
Green - G
Nothing - L
Orange - O
Aux/E - White W2 and Brown E (I put them both in the term)
Common - Blue X

I have the thermostat set to turn on at 70, and it kicks aux heat on every time.

Span 1 is set for 1 degree, Span 2 is set for 3. I dunno if those matter or not.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-13-11, 06:24 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What was the brand and model on the old stat?

Why the change in stat?

Honestly, take that hunter back and get a real stat like Honeywell.
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-11, 07:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was an intertherm, came with the unit.

I wanted to get a programmable one.

What's the difference between the 2?
 
  #4  
Old 11-13-11, 07:36 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am taking it you have electric back up heat?

if so, you are best to set it and forget it on a heat pump system.. otherwise, when it recovering from set back it most likely turn on the Aux heat to help w/ recovery.

HP don't recover fast like gas furnace would.

have a model # on the old stat?
 
  #5  
Old 11-13-11, 07:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I was messing with the temp to make sure it works, and I'll watch it over the next few days to see if it stays on. It's a lot different from my old one. This old intertherm had a green light for aux heat, and a red light for emerg heat. I saw the aux heat kick on every once in a while.

I don't see anything that says ser# on it, but the numbers under the face plate are:
T841 A 1480
9129300
And for extra bonus points:
Assembled in Mexico
30v max
LR69071


Edit**
You know, know that I'm looking closer, I do see Honeywell stamped on this stat. Inside the faceplate
 

Last edited by stellgod; 11-13-11 at 07:46 PM. Reason: extra info
  #6  
Old 11-13-11, 08:02 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You do have it wired up right.

This Hunter does not have a Aux and E port, and you are piggy back the two wires on to one here.


If you want to use the program stat, you are best to use Honeywell RTH7500 or RTH7600. They have the Aux and E to hook the wire up to by itself.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: