House won't heat without EM Heat


  #1  
Old 11-22-11, 02:41 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
House won't heat without EM Heat

Be gentle, I'm a novice when it comes to heating.

I have a Bryant Plus 80 High Efficiency Gas Furnace which I believe is hooked up to a heat pump.


It has been about 30 degrees outside, but the house has only been heating up to 62-63 degrees with it set to 75.


When I switched it to emergency heat, the furnace lit the flames again and warmed up the house nicely.



Is this normal? Do I need to have the heat pump serviced?


The house is about 12-15 years old, and so are the major items (water heater, furnace, etc).
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-11, 03:47 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
It could help! HVAC equipment should be serviced twice a year
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-11, 03:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay thanks. We moved in this spring, so it's about time for that anyway.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-11, 06:09 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,167
Received 1,165 Votes on 1,123 Posts
Heat pumps don't work well when it's really cold but I would think 30 should still be in the range where the emergency heat is not needed.
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-11, 06:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 49,248
Received 676 Votes on 598 Posts
I disconnected the heat strip on our HP [wife likes to fiddle with the thermostat] and our HP has no problem keeping the house warm while it's 25-30 degrees outside. It does struggle a little when it gets down to the teens but that's always a good excuse to fire up the wood stove
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-11, 03:25 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like the outdoor temperature sensor is set to high or has failed. Its a device that tells the gas furnace to come on when the temperature outside falls below 32 degrees on average. If you turn on the heat pump to heat when its above 32 degrees outside will the outdoor unit come on? If so i would say it is the outdoor temperature sensor
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-11, 08:42 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There's plenty of "heat" in the air at 30˚. Most HP here in Minnesota runs down to 20˚, and then switched over to gas.

Your unit may be low on charge, and should be checked since it's having a hard time keeping up.

Also, are you using set back on HP? If so, HP are best to "set it and forget it"
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: