Honeywell RTH6350/RTH6450 Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-12-12, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell RTH6350/RTH6450 Wiring

I have a 2 stage heat/i stage cool electric Heat Pump system in my new home. I've never really thought it performed as it should, but its the first heat pump system I've ever had, so I am not too sure how it really works.

I just tried to replace the old thermostat with a Honeywell programable. The old one got damaged by the movers.

The old thermostat was wired this way:
W3 - empty
E - white wire with an additional jump to W2
G - Green
Y - Yellow
X - Black
O - Orange
W2 - jumped to E
B - empty
L - empty

After reading the Honeywell directions, I ended up with this:
L - empty
E - white with jumper to AUX
AUX - jumped to E
G - green
O/B - orange
Y - yellow
R - Red with jumped to Rc
Rc - jumped to R

I wrapped the black up (which was attached to X on the old stat) and did not use, per instructions.

After programming the thermostat, the heat/fan is working but the cooling/fan is not:
Function 1: 7
Function 3: 1
Function 5: 9
Function 6: 9

Not sure what I did incorrectly. Can anyone help?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-12, 08:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
1 = 5


 
  #3  
Old 06-13-12, 08:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Switched Function 1 from 7 to 5. Still not AC.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-12, 09:41 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
Verify that option 2 is 0 (O/B terminal is O).
This is the factory setting when you configure 1 to 5 (Heat pump with Aux heat).

Does the outdoor unit run with a cooling demand present?
If it runs, is the outdoor unit discharging hot air out of the top in cool mode?
Did you wait 5 minutes?
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-12, 06:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Set Function 2 to 0. Set Function 6 to 9. Waited 5 min. Still not fixed.
Although the heat seems to be working just fine.
 
  #6  
Old 06-15-12, 07:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All set. Pulled out all the wires and re-inserted each, making sure they had good contact. Seems that the R/RC jumper (factory installed) was NOT seated properly. I also tighted all the terminals a half a turn tighter to include those that were not being used. Came on as soon as a reconnected the tstat. Thanks for all your help.
 
  #7  
Old 06-16-12, 09:01 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
Programmable thermostats can increase your electric bill if you program setback temperatures for the heating mode.

The electric heat strips engage when the stat has a demand greater than 2 degrees. This is the cause for the higher electric bill.


This does not hold true for the cooling mode. Setback temperature settings can save money in the cooling mode.

Example of local settings...

Wake: 68heat/76cool
Leave: 68heat/79cool
Return: 68heat/76cool
Sleep: 68heat/74cool
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: