Electric Heat doesn't turn on - wiring question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-12, 04:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric Heat doesn't turn on - wiring question

Heat Pump / AC unit is:
International Comfort Products
Model: PHAD24N1K4

Thermostat is: RobertShaw 9610

Connections are shown in the diagram below:

PROBLEM:
A/C Works, but Heater doesn't turn on. I noticed that on my heat pump terminal block, Y1 was jumper-ed to W1 and W2 and that didn't seem right, but A/C doesn't work if I disconnect W1 and W2.

It seems to me that the W on the T-stat should be connected to W1, and that Y on the T-stat should be connected to Y1 (and not jumpered to W1, W2). I tried that and then neither A/C nor heat worked. For now I have set it back to the wiring above and A/C works, but the heat does not.

I am hoping someone more expert than myself will see the problem here and suggest a simple solution.
Thanks!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-12, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a photo of the label from my AC / Heat Pump, and a photo of the A/C Terminal Block showing the jumpering from Y1 to W1 (W1 is jumper-ed to W2 on the back side):

Name:  Chandler-20121113-00049.jpg
Views: 2046
Size:  24.5 KBName:  Chandler-20121113-00052.jpg
Views: 1998
Size:  27.9 KB
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-12, 05:32 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you have aux (electric heat) or just the heat pump (no aux heat)? Your thermostat will not control aux heat. I can not find a manual for your unit. Can you post a picture of a schematic if you can find one on the unit?
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-12, 06:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Thought I found wiring - wrong unit
 
  #5  
Old 11-15-12, 09:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring Diagram

Name:  heat_pump_wiring_diagram.jpg
Views: 21470
Size:  51.7 KB
I called the manufacturer and got them to send me a PDF version of the wiring diagram (see image). This matches the diagram on the unit, but it is a lot easier to read than my pictures.

Also found out that this is branded as an ArcoAire unit.
So correct information is:

Brand: ArcoAire
Model: PHAD24N1K4

When I googled ArcoAir
PHAD24N1K4 I was able to find a Users Manual with recommended thermostat wiring that is pretty close to what I have (see below). I marked it up to show my current configuration including the jumper between Y1 and W1 on the unit side. If I remove that jumper the A/C stops working.

Based on this diagram I am thinking that maybe I just need to jumper Y and W on the Thermostat side as shown in the Users Manual. Does that look right?
Name:  T-stat_wiring.jpg
Views: 5955
Size:  48.5 KB
 
  #6  
Old 11-15-12, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring diagrams that might be easier to read

PDF's have a 50k limit so I am posting this as an image. I assume you just need the connection diagram and not the Ladder diagram:
Name:  connection_wiring_diagram.jpg
Views: 16254
Size:  44.8 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-16-12, 09:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem solved.
Jumpered Y and W on the T-Stat and now it works in both the A/C and Heat setting.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: