Heat Pump Buzz


  #1  
Old 01-05-13, 01:59 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Heat Pump Buzz

Anyone experienced in this field, PLease Help.
This started happening last night. It was in the upper 20's.
At the time i took the video,it was 44 degrees. So,I assume the defrost mode is probably out of the question. correct?
The fan is spinning faster than what shows in the video.
What Next?
Thanks in advance ....
Please see video here.. Heat Pump buzz - YouTube
1/5/2013
 
  #2  
Old 01-05-13, 02:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,470
Received 4,052 Upvotes on 3,635 Posts
It sounds like it's short cycling.....possibly due to freon issue.
You may be getting emergency heat from the reheat coils.

I see water on ground under unit which means it probably has defrosted.

We'll need to have one of the HVAC tech's weigh in with his opinion.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-13, 02:36 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Sounds like the compressor is trying to start but can't. This could be due to a failed capacitor or the need for a hard start kit might be warranted.
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-13, 02:39 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok thanks ..
I need insight so I know what I'm dealing with.
The house I bought and the Unit is from 2006. I've had it since 2010.
If anyone neede to know how old it is.
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-13, 03:20 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,527
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Open the control panel and look at the dual run capacitor. It should not be swollen on top like this one.

Match the microfarad ratings and the voltage of the old one when you replace it...

Remove power, wait 5 minutes for the cap to bleed down and write down the terminal = wire combination before you replace it. (probably 3 yellow wires on C, one brown wire on F and one blue wire on H)

A 5 microfarad plus 40 microfarad by 370VAC example




http://icpindexing.toddsit.com/docum...1804140100.pdf
 

Last edited by Houston204; 01-05-13 at 04:12 PM.
  #6  
Old 01-05-13, 04:11 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,527
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
  #7  
Old 01-05-13, 05:58 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Houston, I have a problem...
Just checked the capacitor,and found that it isn't swollen...
Any other ideas?..
 
  #8  
Old 01-05-13, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,470
Received 4,052 Upvotes on 3,635 Posts
It doesn't have to be swollen to be bad.....that's just a 100% confirmation.
I'd change it anyway. Not a real expensive part.
 
  #9  
Old 01-05-13, 06:07 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok,PJ, I will try it... I looked it up. It's $28.00.
What I got to loose , right?
Glad I got the gas log fireplace..
 
  #10  
Old 01-05-13, 06:18 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,527
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
A new capacitor is much cheaper than the meter to check one.



You should have an Emergency Heat setting on your thermostat.
This will not run the compressor or the condenser fan motor. It will run the blower motor and heat strips.

If you do not have Emergency Heat on the stat I recommend a new Honeywell stat with that new dual cap.
 
  #11  
Old 01-05-13, 06:23 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I do have emergency heat.
Correct me though,I've never used emergency heat setting before but this is'nt meant to run for a long period. am I right on this?
 
  #12  
Old 01-05-13, 06:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,470
Received 4,052 Upvotes on 3,635 Posts
No problem to run it......it's just more costlier than the heat pump system.
 
  #13  
Old 01-05-13, 06:27 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Also, Thank you for your time on the web with me..
 
  #14  
Old 05-31-13, 06:24 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The compressor took a crap. I had a guy come look at my system and said the compressor needs replaced.
Anyway, before determining it was the compressor,he installed a hard start kit,which fixed the buzz I was having,but said the compressor was not starting.
He can install a new compressor,and fill Freon. He says its about $30 a pound.
Everything for $1200.00 total.
Does this sound right? Am I getting a good deal?

Thanks for your opinion.
 
  #15  
Old 05-31-13, 06:35 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
That's a great deal for a compressor, suction drier, liquid line drier, and new refrigerant all installed. However, I would not put that kind of money into a R22 system.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: