Goodman 13 seer 3 ton single stage heat pump wiring issues.


  #1  
Old 06-05-13, 03:51 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman 13 seer 3 ton single stage heat pump wiring issues.

I have a Goodman 13 seer single stage heat pump with a single stage gas furnace backup. The heat pump is controlled by a Honeywell vision pro IAQ t-stat and module. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with the wiring.
Here is what I have wired:
T-stat IEM
1 1
2 2
3 3
IEM Furnace HP
R R R
W2 W W
O/B O
C C C
G G
Y1 Y Y
outdoor sensor
The issue I'm having might not be with the wiring but i wanted to just make sure. The unit is heating while in the cooling mode. If someone could check my wiring and help me out with this it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
 

Last edited by ev123; 06-05-13 at 04:08 AM.
  #2  
Old 06-05-13, 04:09 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
The wiring is correct. Is option 190 of the stat setup set to 0? If it is then you need to check for 24VAC between O and C at the outdoor unit and EIM
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-13, 04:37 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I had option 190 set 1 and changed it to 0. One thing that I did leave out is the fact the I have a faulty outdoor sensor. That shouldn't affect the cooling stage should it?
 

Last edited by ev123; 06-05-13 at 04:59 AM.
  #4  
Old 06-05-13, 06:27 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
what was the result of changing option 190 to 0? no the other center should not affect Cooling operation
 
  #5  
Old 06-05-13, 08:09 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The result was the same. Heat in the cooling mode.
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-13, 08:29 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Did you check for 24v?.............
 
  #7  
Old 06-05-13, 08:30 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
I just looked at you wiring again.... did you connect O at the HP?
 
  #8  
Old 06-05-13, 09:01 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I had to leave the house for work. I will check for 24v tonight and get back with you. Where should I go from there if there is or isn't 24v?
 
  #9  
Old 06-05-13, 09:04 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I connected the O terminal at the HP to the W O/B terminal on the EIM. So I ran straight from the O/B terminal on the EIM to the O terminal on the HP with nothing going to the furnace.
 
  #10  
Old 06-05-13, 09:22 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The one thing that confused me was where i had to hook up my W coming from the HP and the W coming from the furnace. I connected both of them to W2/AUX2 on the EIM. I wasn't 100% sure if that was correct.
 
  #11  
Old 06-05-13, 09:51 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
That is the correct terminal for those connections.
 
  #12  
Old 06-05-13, 05:20 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: united states
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Found no voltage betwbetween O and C. Traced it back and found a break in the wire which must've happened when I stripped the wire. A/C is working just fine now. Thanks I appreciate your help.
 
  #13  
Old 06-05-13, 06:50 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Glad you got it working..........
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: