condenser exhaust fan won't start

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-23-13, 11:04 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
condenser exhaust fan won't start

I have a two year old goodman heat pump the compressor will start but the exhaust fan won't on its own you can push it with a stick and it'll run fine until it cycles off and on again then you have to hit it with a stick to start it I'm thinking a bad motor start capacitor (haven't looked to see what is on it yet) Any thoughts before I take it apart it's under warrenty but The labor and service call will probabley be more then the capacitor I think
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-23-13, 12:12 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 985
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yup, fan capacitor is bad. It's a $5 part at best.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-13, 12:39 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks tom63 it's a 1/4 HP motor can I use a capacitor rated for any 1/4 hp motor or should I go thru Goodman parts
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-13, 02:21 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will need to match the run capacitor that is currently installed. If the label is no longer readable post the model number of your Goodman heat pump and I am sure someone will help you. It is very much a DIY project as long as you follow all safety rules such as shutting down power to the unit, verifying the power is off and discharging the bad capacitor before touching it.
 
  #5  
Old 08-23-13, 03:05 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing the fan motor run capcitor

The numbers are worn off the capacitor but it's a 1/4 horse motor The goodman model number is GSZ130361AB I called goodman but I was told I had to have a HAVC licence to get the part from them
 
  #6  
Old 08-23-13, 03:32 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the condenser fan is original the capacitor should be a dual run capacitor 45/5uf 440VAC. However, the best bet is to look at the fan motor and see if the required capacitor is listed on the data sticker. There are many sources to purchase the capacitor depending on how quickly you need it. If you have a Grainger's or a Johnstone Supply locally you should be able to purchase one there. Some of the stores are anal and will only sell to people in the trade who have accounts set up. When I am at one of those stores I see people come in all of the time and when asked what their account name is they say "cash" and it is no problem. Then you have multiple stores on the internet that will sell one to you. If you really need it quickly, you can go to one of the local big box stores early in the morning and look for an hvac business van and talk to one of the technicians to see if they will hook you up. What you need to search for is a capacitor that is 45/5uf and 440VAC. I'll do some researching and see if I can post some part numbers for you. The original part number is CAP050450440RTS. Here is a link to repair part information for your unit: http://www.alpinehomeair.com/related...s%20Manual.pdf
Your unit is "M7" when looking for the parts in the listings.
 

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 08-23-13 at 03:49 PM.
  #7  
Old 08-23-13, 03:51 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help the unit is only 3 years old but the numbers are worn off I didn't know that it was a dual capacitor the compressor comes on and runs fine until it gets hot then it cycles off and on it'll run 5 to 10 minutes before it cycles off when the compressor is running you can blow hard on the fan and it'll run until it hits the set temp and then cycles off the compressor will start again but the fan won't until you help it I'm just giving it a short burst from the garden hose and off it goes I have a grainger store close to me I did busness with before I retierd I was a mechanical engineer
 
  #8  
Old 08-23-13, 04:14 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As I said, depending on if your fan motor has been replaced or if someone replaced a dual run capacitor with two separate capacitors. The way to tell if your run capacitor is dual is to look at the top of it and you should see three sets of terminals marked C, Herm and Fan. That is good that you have a Grainger account. You will find the capacitors are priced from very low around $3-4 to $50.00 and up. For a dual run capacitor I usually pay around $12-14 at Johnstone Supply. Grainger has a Dayton 2MEJ9 which will work for you but quite a bit more expensive. If you get a chance, look at the top of your run capacitor to see if it has the three sets of terminals C, Herm and Fan. While you are looking see if the top of the capacitor is bulged out or has leaking fluid. The compressor is probably shutting off on thermal overload because the condenser fan is not cooling it. If you can wait for the capacitor you can get some real good prices on eBay. I have bought some and have had great luck with them. I always keep a spare run capacitor because they always fail on a weekend or in the middle of the night on the hottest day of the year.
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-13, 04:27 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks that's good advice to keep a spare I'll look at it in the mourning to see how many leads there are you have to take the housing apart to get to the capacitor then I'll check pricing and get two thanks again
 
  #10  
Old 08-23-13, 04:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new quistion

should the exhaust fan turn on as soon as the compressor starts or is it on a temperature switch or pressure switch (excuse my typing I had two fingers severed and sewed back on)
 
  #11  
Old 08-23-13, 04:49 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the condenser fan should start as soon as the compressor starts.
 
  #12  
Old 08-23-13, 04:52 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks that's what I thought but I'm no expert every one has been a big help
 
  #13  
Old 08-23-13, 05:47 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most of the time all you need is a 5/16" nut driver to replace remove the access panel and the capacitor mounting strap. If you can't find the same diameter or shape capacitor you can use a short length of metal plumber's tape to secure it. If you run into any issues you can PM me. There are some pretty good videos on youtube that show the complete procedure and how to do it safely.
 
  #14  
Old 08-23-13, 06:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,466
Received 1,027 Votes on 953 Posts
When changing the cap...... make sure power is off to the unit and take a screwdriver and short each lead to ground to make sure cap is discharged.
 
  #15  
Old 08-24-13, 04:39 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
discharging a capaciter

Thanks for the info on discharging the capacitor as a kid we use to make a joke by using a condenser from a car ignition (which is like a capacitor) hollow out a old book put the capacitor and a 9 volt battery in the book with a very small wire taped along the cover and two contact plates made from aluminum foil close the book and it charged the capacitor open and you would get a small shock but I know when discharging this capacitor you would need a good set of insulated pliers to avoid a very large shock maybe even dangerous.should you discharge it as soon as you disconnect the leads or can you remove it from the mounting bracket and discharge it when its out being carefull not to touch the leads
 
  #16  
Old 08-24-13, 07:11 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Always shut the power off to the unit. You need to discharge the capacitor BEFORE touching the leads while it is still mounted to the unit. I use an insulated screwdriver to touch the blade between the common and herm terminals and then the common and fan terminals. I rarely see anything happen but it is a good idea to always do it as you never know. Safety first!!
 
  #17  
Old 08-24-13, 09:11 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks I have a pair of electrical pliers with heavy insulation I saw a maintenance man burn his hand when one discharged from a 240 v motor I'll be careful not to touch the leads until discharged. You shouldn't get a shock if your touching the housing when you ground out the terminal or will you.
 
  #18  
Old 08-24-13, 10:18 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was always taught to just use one hand when discharging the capacitor and when pulling the disconnect. I am not sure if you would get a shock while touching the housing but you really shouldn't need to do so. The reason I use a screw driver is because it is easy to slip the blade in and out between the terminals.
 
  #19  
Old 08-24-13, 10:24 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what is the part number

I found the wiering diagram (it was under a panel on the other side of the unit?)
I'm not sure what the part number is a fan start cap and comp start cap are optional so I just have the run cap its not bulging or rusted (bat are dead in my meter) cap has 45/5 SH capacitor 350/370 V 50/60 Hz
c22.2 No 190 LR 79596 non pcb protected 10000 AFC DAL m3GJ0545
Digitall Tech S/PN DAL-M3GJ0545
G/PN CAP 050450370RS
S/SRL CHINA2008.12.18
what is the part number or what is compatable I think theM3GJ0545 is the digital tech number not positive
 
  #20  
Old 08-24-13, 10:50 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The part number is CAP 050450370RS. It looks like it is probably the original capacitor. It is similar to the part number I provided in post #6 except that one is 440VAC. If you look at the parts list link I provided in the same post on page 5 item 81 for M7 (your unit) it shows the correct part for your unit is CAP 050450440RTS. Personally, I would use the 440VAC version. You can use a 440VAC capacitor in place of a 370VAC but not vice versa.
 
  #21  
Old 08-24-13, 11:23 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks I would assume the difference between 370 and 440 v is the extra charge it gives the motor to start so the 440 v gives a little more push then the 370 v so it makes sence to do as you say and use the 440 since I don't have a start assist cap or a'm I wrong on that line of thinking
 
  #22  
Old 08-24-13, 11:42 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am not sure about the extra charge. I always like to go with the nomenclature that the manufacturer provides. As I said in an earlier post the fan motor should have a sticker on it that shows what run capacitor is required. In your case it should be a 5uf 370VAC capacitor. But a dual run capacitor is for the fan and the compressor. It is entirely your call as to which way you want to go. You can replace exactly what you are taking out or you can go to the higher 440VAC.
Check page 5, item 81 (M7, your version) to see what the manufacturer lists:

http://www.alpinehomeair.com/related...s%20Manual.pdf
 
  #23  
Old 08-24-13, 11:52 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It says I can use both a 370 or a 440 dual run cap I found one at grainger Dayton part 6FLT6 its rated MFD 70/5/440 I don't know what the MFD is for I see a AFC on the cap lable but not a MFD But the other numbers match up 70/5/440
 
  #24  
Old 08-24-13, 11:57 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, that is not the correct part. The MFD is for microfarads, You need the 45/5 MFD/440/370VAC. Take a look at item #30D645 at Grainger.
 
  #25  
Old 08-24-13, 02:30 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No terminals

thanks the one thing I see if the picture is right that has two terminals I have three.
 

Last edited by dgunnon; 08-24-13 at 03:12 PM.
  #26  
Old 08-24-13, 02:43 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
link to goodman

The link to goodman has that listed as a 050450440RTS But the capacitor in the unit (and I bought it new 3 years ago this is the first problem I've had) is a 050450370RTS
 

Last edited by dgunnon; 08-24-13 at 03:09 PM.
  #27  
Old 08-24-13, 03:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
grainger part#2MEF4

The cap on the unit looks like grainger part# 2MEF4 it has three terminals but I would rather go with the 440v instead of the 370v
 
  #28  
Old 08-24-13, 03:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,466
Received 1,027 Votes on 953 Posts
370v ...... 440v makes no difference at 240 volts.
 
  #29  
Old 08-24-13, 04:15 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks the one thing I see if the picture is right that has two terminals I have three.
That is just a generic photo. Dual run capacitors have three sets of terminals.
I was showing you that one because it is a 370/440VAC.

A good dual run capacitor that I have had good luck with is Titan Pro TRCFD455 and can be found at a very good price. If you search for it on the internet I found it can be ordered from eBay, Home Depot, amazon.com and etc. for a very good price.
 
  #30  
Old 08-24-13, 04:23 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thats the one

Can't thank you enough for the help That's the one I'll check home depot Or Ebay Tomorrow
 
  #31  
Old 08-24-13, 04:34 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I sent a PM with some sources for the capacitor.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: