Wiring inside a ruud

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-01-13, 02:23 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring inside a ruud

Hi
I have a ruud that I just replaced the thermostat and I would like to have fan only ability, how ever it was never hooked up. The model is ugla-125a-at installed in 1990. Where does the green wire go inside the furnace?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-01-13, 04:19 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
The green wire from the thermostat goes to the G terminal on the thermostat connection board inside the furnace. It will have R, W, G, and Y terminals but not necessarily in that order. It may also have a C terminal.
 
  #3  
Old 09-01-13, 08:04 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really hope I would not miss a terminal that has r, y, g, w, and maybe c. So what i see is the red attached to one side of a transformer and white is attached to a thing that the gas line goes through with the pilot light. I have tried to attach pics please that me know if they work and if i'm looking in the wrong place for a terminal.

thank you.

Name:  nates ipod 004.jpg
Views: 521
Size:  31.9 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 09-01-13, 08:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,425
Received 1,020 Votes on 946 Posts
I couldn't find the wiring diagram for your unit there but it looks like you don't have a fan control center.

Is that just a furnace......no A/C ?
 
  #5  
Old 09-01-13, 08:23 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No ac. Post too short so adding text.
 
  #6  
Old 09-01-13, 08:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,425
Received 1,020 Votes on 946 Posts
Ok.....you fan is now only controlled by that device in the second picture. It looks like a round silver disc over the gas valve. That's the blower temperature control. It closes the 120vac circuit to the blower when the heating plenum gets hot.

You would have to add a fan control center. It's a transformer and relay package in one unit. I'm guessing it would run about 100 bucks.

If it's something you want to install we can walk you thru it.
 
  #7  
Old 09-01-13, 11:23 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
That must be a pretty old furnace. While PJ's comments are correct you could probably add remote fan control for less than $25 by simply adding a relay powered from the existing transformer. I'm pretty sure you can get a suitable relay from Radio Shack but if not they are readily available. Biggest problem is that you will pay more for shipping than for the relay.
 
  #8  
Old 09-02-13, 12:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,425
Received 1,020 Votes on 946 Posts
Furd has a great idea. You could just use an hvac 24vac relay. They're all over places like eBay.
Let us know what you want to do.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: