Can 4 ton Trane XL16i be used with 3 1/2 ton indoor unit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-30-13, 10:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can 4 ton Trane XL16i be used with 3 1/2 ton indoor unit?

I had a new 4 ton trane XL16i unit installed two years ago. I recently discovered that the indoor unit that was installed with the 4 ton outdoor unit is 3 1/2 ton. I was wondering if this could impact the unit's ability to cool, because this unit will not cool my home on very hot days (90 degrees). Also, this system replaced a 5 ton unit. I was told the 4 ton would be more efficient because it would not cycle on and off as often as the 5 ton unit.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-30-13, 11:36 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,416
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
Post the complete model number of the indoor unit.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-13, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Indoor unit model number is: TAM7AOC42H31SAA
Outdoor unit model number is: 4TWX6048E1000AA
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-13, 07:34 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,416
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
http://www.trane.com/CPS/Uploads/Use...6_02012013.pdf

Page 10 of the TAM7A042 air handler manual airflow chart has it listed with 4 ton units.



I couldn't find anything on the latent and sensible heat capacities of that match.
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-13, 08:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 1/2 ton indoor Trane Unit

Thank you very much for this information.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: