Add blower/fan only to furance

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-06-13, 12:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add blower/fan only to furance

Hi all,
I want to add a fan only relay/switch to my furnace. I have the terminal and the thermostat for fan only. I need to add the wiring. I would think I could just go to the 24v Energized camstat for the fan. Can I add a relay. What are the options here? what would you do? I read this post and it is very similar.http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ga...-blower.html#b
And great advise was given.
thanks in advance.
KK
 
Attached Images      
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-06-13, 06:52 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,416
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
I don't see a fan motor in your pics.
Looks like controls for an old air handler but what's feeding the fan motor?
Post a picture of your wiring diagram.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-13, 09:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the fan sits on top of the controls, yes not visible. from the 110 breaker you acn barely see the terminal strip, behind the black powe supply coming in, for the COM, LO, high (black red blue). Then from there the bloack wire taking off to the upper left is heading to the fan. I will try to get wiring diagram.
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-13, 11:26 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,416
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
I see more than one black wire. I can't even identify which relay controls the fan from your pics.

I would need more information to be able to help you.

The make and model of the air handler and the heat strips may help if the pdf is available online. (less than 15 to 20 years old)
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-13, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, many black wire, the wiring diagram is attached. Sorry thought someone could just look at it and say " Oh, its one of these old Units, all you need to do is this." etc. It looks like a "G" wire could go to RBM-91. thanks for your looking.
this may help. The Bottom black middle camstat help turn the fan on, the middle one gets Energized I believe, "H" connections. also a sequencer goes to it as well. A relay SPNC(blue, Lo speed) middle camstat AND SPNO (red, high speed) second camstat. White attached is the 24 volt energizer.
KK
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 11-09-13, 11:11 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,416
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
The resolution is too low. Does this say fan motor?

 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: